Stick a fork in me Im done!

Status
Not open for further replies.

terriy

Member Since 2011
I just dont think that I can do this anymore. I try and I try and I try and more times than not I cant get blood. I read every hint, watch videos and try to stay calm but its just not working.
I just spent 30 minutes poking her no less than 20 times maybe even more and I just cant do it. The one time I got enough blood to come out for a test the #@!*#@*! meter timed out. I did everything the way Ive seen it done on the videos, I warmed the sock and held it on her ear until its cold and then I poke and poke and poke and nothing. Then I go heat the sock back up again and do it all over again. After bout 20 or maybe more pokes I just gave up!!! The cat is sick of me touching her!! I just dont know what Im going to do. This is why I fell off the "testing wagon" before. The shots are nothing but this getting blood is almost impossible for me to do. I was going to try and do a curve today however every time I try to do the curve this is what happens. Im really sick of this and just want to go beat my head up against a brick wall!! angry(2)_cat
 
If you must get blood, you may poke the vein directly. I found it easier to free-hand, rather than using a lancet pen.

So, time to punt. Here's an alternative, slow protocol which uses more indirect measurements, described at the bottom of the 2nd page in this PDF

You should also test for urine ketones and glucose daily.

My signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools has tips on urine testing, plus some other assessments you'll want to make.

Print out the list of hypoglycemia indicators and post them, so you can determine if any of those are present.
 
Oh sweetie, I'm sorry. Take a break (chocolate and wine can be a nice combination...) for a couple days. She is in the higher ranges so she should be in same numbers.

When you're ready to try again, come on Health and give people a blow by blow of your process. Maybe we'll have some ideas to try. (my only one right now is the size of lancets - are you using 25 or 26 gauge?)

Have we tried to see if someone lives nearby and could come help?
 
OK. After a hot shower and pizza (I did not have any chocolate and wine) I've backed away from the ledge I was ready to jump off of. Im using 28 gauge lancets and Ive never tried to free hand so I'm going to give that a try and see if I do any better. Hey I cant do any worse!! I may even purchase a new lancet device with the clear plastic cap on the end and see if that is better. The one Ive been using is actually broke so maybe that has something to do with it. Also going to read the PDF that BJM suggested and see if that helps.
I think I can...I think I can....I think I can haha_smiley
 
FWIW I was never able to get blood out of Harley's ear with the devise, it worked on my fingers but not his ears so I free handed it, that also takes a little practice but I found it much easier. It's easier to see where you're aiming and figuring out how much pressure it takes to get a drop. Poke at a 45 degree angle or you will go right through and some do 2 quick pokes right next to each other and then milk the ear to encourage the blood to come out. Harley was a delayed bleeder, I would poke and nothing would happen for a second or two after I started milking the ear and then the blood would appear.
 
Thanks bunches!! Im going to try this again at 4 pm with a free hand and see what happens.

:dizcat

4 pm update:
Well this time was not so bad. I managed to get blood on the second poke. Much better than its been. Maybe free hand is the way for me! BG was 342 fed her 1/2 can FF and shot with 2.5 units.
She is still limping but she wanted to go outside so I let her. Thats a good sign that she is feeling better. She has made up for lost time in the litter box. 2 pee's and 3 poops in the last 24 hours.
Last one seemed to indicate a upset stomach. Overall I think she is doing pretty good. I think we will make it until Friday without having to go to the vet. I can talk to him about all her issues when I pick her up from her dental. That way I only have to pay for 1 vet visit. She is still limping but I have seen some improvement since she has been taking the cosequin. Good enough improvement to be able to wait till Friday.
"Big Sigh" All is well for now!
 
Oh, Terri, I know EXACTLY how you feel! When Chuck was first diagnosed in 2008, I probably spent more time crying and upset because I couldn't get his ear to bleed.

I agree with free-handing it. I've never used the device because I'd heard most cats don't like the sound of it near their ears, and may jerk away just at the last second so you end up missing. The little rice bag worked great (and still does, although his ears have 're-learned' how to bleed when poked, so I don't have to use it all that much)...

Take many deep breaths, and be sure to ALWAYS pet and praise her (I'm sorry, I don't know her name); and occasional treat helps, too. Always pet, praise and maybe offer a treat, even if you didn't get blood. You want her to associate the poking with something good, and not hide from you when you come around.

Chuck is now to the point where he sits on the counter if I ask him to, and he usually purrs through the whole process. I always tell him what a good boy he is, even if it's 2:30 in the morning! Daddy-bean, on the other hand, hasn't quite figured out where to poke. He tested for me on Saturday while I was at work, and he definitely missed the edge of Chuck's ear, based on the bruise in the middle of his ear!!

Edited to add: Fold a tissue up and put it "in" her ear, as a guard against going through the ear entirely and poking yourself. You can also use the tissue to put pressure on the spot where you poked after you get blood -- it seems to help with the bruising for Chuck. I keep a small tube of Neosporin ointment in his kit, and will spread a little of that on his ear if it's getting too poked. Some folks put a little petroleum jelly on the ear prior to poking to help the blood bead up.
 
Well this time was not so bad. I managed to get blood on the second poke. Much better than its been. Maybe free hand is the way for me!

Awesome! When my vet showed me how to get blood, she said "don't even try the device, toss it. Just use the lancet. If you can sew on a button, you can do this." And yes, I can sew on a button, lol. The only problem I had at first was the stupid box of lancets I bought were 33g. After having to multi-poke for a couple days, I went and bought a box of 25g or 26g lancets, and never had another problem. Eventually I was able to use the 33g as either I got better at it, or Bob did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top