Steve 1/25 AMPS BG: 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allie

Member
Well I'm exhausted. ~O) ~O) ~O)
I wasn't able to stay up late enough last night to get the +8 numbers, but I got +4, +6, and +11. I was pretty happy with his AMPS level and felt comfortable giving him 1.5U then.

An hour before at the +11 measurement, I was freaking out thinking I should reduce his dose or not give him any. So, I think I won't increase doses tonight (remind me I said this). I am not in a hurry to see results, although that would be nice! I'm just afraid my decisions will have a long term negative affect on my Steve aka little buddy aka little kitten mittens. nailbite_smile I tend to second guess myself a lot in life, but my second guessing here is getting ridculous. I gotta hold true and trust the process. I'm saying this for my benefit more than for the benefit of anyone reading it. :YMSIGH:

DH is going to try to get a BG measurement before he leaves for work (+2-ish) and if the weather holds out I will make the hour round trip drive during lunch to get the +6 measure).
Cheers,
Allie and Steve
 
Looking good! Steve is lucky to have someone so committed to doing their very best to help him. This numbers process can drive you crazy---especially if you are a second-guesser (I,unfortunately, am). It helps a little to keep in mind that this is a long term process and that any one decision usually is not crucial. You learn to look at the overall patterns that the data provide and remind yourself that you can always learn and make changes going forward. Have a good day!
 
Based on the little data you have, it looks like 1.5 should be okay. Glad DH can get the early test in. I would also leave food out so if he drops lower than feels good, he can eat and bring himself up.

It is nerve racking because you can't be sure what is going to happen this early in the game. IMHO, you are being cautious and careful. I am sure you (and we) will be glad to get some more numbers on that spreadsheet so we have more ideas about where the insulin takes him.

You got some nice numbers mid cycle last night. Although every cat is different, some cats typically drop lower during the night hours, sometimes because they don't eat as much or anything during the night.
 
I wholeheartedly understand the second guessing. We want so much to do the right thing, but also to see results. This process takes time and for those of us who never learned the art of patience, that's hard.
 
Re: Steve 1/25 AMPS BG: 274 PMPS: 355

Well the pmps was 355. a bit higher than i'd want, but I kept with my 1.5U dose for now. DH couldnt get the test this morning. :cry: So, I decided we just didn't have enough info to change for now. Fortunately, I'm calmer than this morning and feel much more confident with this dose.

Behaviorally, Steve isn't doing the crazy stuff he was doing last nite. So everything is going okay for now.
 
Hey Allie, totally off topic, but I was looking at your profile. My degree is in geology too! I don't meet too many other people who love rocks. I worked as an environmental educator until my dd came along.
 
Claudia,
How cool! You are right there aren't too many of us around, especially where I live everything is mud here. I wouldn't call myself a sedimentologist (most of those guys have Dr. as their first name), but I work with marine sediments. It is good to see another rockhounding, diabetic cat lover besides me. I thought for sure there weren't too many of those! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top