Staying up w/ Henry: 57 on AlphaTrak2 at PMPS +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ramonaghan

Member Since 2014
No symptoms of hypo. He was 108 at PMPS and got a reduced dose of .75u (background here). I've given him a few pieces of Blue Buffalo kibble and some Nutro Senior Chicken & Lamb canned. He was 56 at PMPS +2.25, 61 @ +2.5, 71 @ +3, so we're heading in the right direction. Will keep testing until we're over 80. I'm exhausted but calm and Hen is enjoying the carb-fest. Anything else I need to do? Karo? Tomorrow AM dose advice?
 
There is valuable information to help you at times like these here. I recommend everyone print a hard copy and keep it with their hypo supplies.

Here are the basics, however the numbers are human glucometer numbers :

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Thanks for your reply. I did read that and have the hypo page bookmarked as well. His numbers are creeping up ever so slowly. I'll get in another test or two and leave out some food.
 
ramonaghan said:
Will keep testing until we're over 80.
for safety, the rule of thumb is 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising before calling it a night. So if you get an 80 retest an hour later. If he is holding or on the way up your good. Leaving out extra food is a good idea.

A reduction was definitely called for, however you may not see the effects for a few cycles - the depot will be providing action until it adjusts to the lower dose.

I see a lot of dose changes over the past 6 days on Henrys ss, both up and down. The ideal with Lantus, being that it is slow to onset and long acting, is to find a dose you can shoot consistently every 12 hours. Keep in mind that with Lantus you aren't shooting the PS number, you are shooting a number 3 or so hours down the road, at onset.

I'll be up a while , with one eye on Henrys ss :cool:
 
1 can FF Classics @ PMPS. ~1T Nutro Senior Chicken & Lamb @ +2, ~2T same at +3, ~2T Blue Basics Limited Ingredient Turkey and Potato kibble @ +4.

Just got a 90 @ +8.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top