Starting Lantus tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paige & Wesson

Member Since 2021
Finally have the Lantus and the syringes and we are ready to start tomorrow. His numbers are sticking between 399-410 with wet food only and no insulin. Wesson was 17 lbs at diagnosis (today he is at 15.4 lbs) and the vet recommended starting at 2u. I have seen that starting dose is normally .5u to 1u, so should I start at 1u and work our way up if needed?

Also, I know I need to test before each shot, but does the shot need to be first thing in the morning with his breakfast or can I feed him a little, wait a few hours and then test/feed/1st shot? With the cats crying for food first thing and getting kids ready, it is really chaotic early morning. Just not sure how it is supposed to work yet.
 
Last edited:
Always test, feed and then shoot in that order.
Don’t feed for the 2 hours before the preshot BGs so the BG is not food influenced.
Give snacks during the first half of all cycles.
Test during the cycles as well to see how low the insulin takes the BG.

To determine the dose, can you tell me was your kitty on another insulin before this?
What type of food is Wesson being fed.? Wet or dry?
 
Wesson has been on all wet food for about a month (FF Classic Pate and Tiki Cat). This is the first time using insulin - no prior insulin.


So there is no getting around the early morning insulin? If I feed him a little something first thing in the morning and wait at least 2 hours until I test/feed/shot it will mess things up?
 
So there is no getting around the early morning insulin? If I feed him a little something first thing in the morning and wait at least 2 hours until I test/feed/shot it will mess things up?

Not an expert… but I’m pretty sure you can set your times whenever you’d like if it works better for you.. so if 10am is better than your shot times will be 10am/10pm.

As mentioned above though, the order is still test/feed/shoot… and fast 2 hours before shot time.
 
Last edited:
Wesson has been on all wet food for about a month (FF Classic Pate and Tiki Cat). This is the first time using insulin - no prior insulin.
So there is no getting around the early morning insulin? If I feed him a little something first thing in the morning and wait at least 2 hours until I test/feed/shot it will mess things up?
If you are feeding an all wet diet and with his weight you could start with 2 units. I would be inclined to start with 1.5 units and see how he goes. You will need to hold the dose for 5 days unless he drops under 90 if you are going to follow the SLGS method. Then you would reduce the dose. Look at the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page for details. I would print off a copy.
Can you tell us what type of glucose meter you are using please?
Also I would recommend you set up a spreadsheet to record your data. That way we can help you.
Details in this link

If you want to feed him first thing then wait for the 2 hours before test, feed, shoot……that is OK. As long as you can fit it into your schedule and you can monitor the cycles. Make sure you give snacks during the first half of all cycles as well if you can.
 
So, I just weighed Wesson preparing for tomorrow and he is now 15.4 lbs (down from 17 lbs last month). Should I still start at 2u (or the 1.5U suggested above) or is 1u a better starting point due to the weight loss?
 
I would go down to 1.50 U seeing he weighs less. Make sure you feed him well before the shots and again give him snacks during the first half of all the cycles.
Are you getting your Spreadsheet set up ready for tomorrow? @Bandit's Mom can help you if you have trouble
Keep asking questions!:)
 
How’s it going?
I ended up chickening out. I did this a few times before I finally tested too. I did draw the Lantus from the pen though, so feel better getting that part figured out. A bit freaked out with pulling up the skin and injecting but I know I need to do it.
 
Are you testing? There’s noting your spreadsheet.
Yes, AM and PM numbers have been between 399-412 since I started testing. Was waiting to start the spreadsheet for the first day of insulin since it's always been in that same range for the last 2 weeks while getting the script and supplies.
 
I’d start filling in the numbers even though you haven’t started insulin.
Can I get you to add a signature?

The longer you wait to start the more Wesson will get used to those high numbers. How can I help?
 
I agree with Elise. It is helpful to see the BG numbers from before he started the insulin as well. All good data.
Please don’t keep waiting to start the insulin as you are running the risk of ketones forming in the insulin.
 
I’d start filling in the numbers even though you haven’t started insulin.
Can I get you to add a signature?

The longer you wait to start the more Wesson will get used to those high numbers. How can I help?


Added the signature, updated his spreadsheet with tests before I started insulin and gave him his FIRST shot! AMPS was 390. What intervals do I test him now today to see how he is reacting to the insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top