Starting insulin today, hopefully?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
Today Charlie gets his first dose of insulin, pzi-2 units, 1x per day. He's not eating quite normally. I had planned to give the shot after he eats his breakfast around 7 am, but what should I do if he doesn't eat? His bg was 433 on Saturday. Is that high enough that he won't go into hypo if he doesn't eat? He will be offered a can of blue buffalo wilderness low-carb food which he usually loves and gobbles up! I don't know if this low appetite is a result of stress from his vet appointment last night, or is a new side effect of fd? Any advice? I haven't made a profile yet, I don't have a meter yet, but plan to get one today and begin home testing tomorrow
 
I would not give 2 units to a cat who isn't eating. Maybe you could consider a token dose? 1/2u maybe - depending on how much he eats.

His appetite should be normal this morning unless your cat really holds a grudge. Mine usually come out of the carrier and go straight to the food from the vet's office.

If his appetite hasn't improved by the middle/end of the day you need to contact your vet.

Best,
Pam & Layla
 
I set his can of wet food down and he scarfed it right up, so I shot him while he was eating. He didn't seem to like it much, but I hope he gets used to it. Maybe the insulin burns or stings a little? He's resting now. I was going to switch his food from kibble to wet gradually since he had to start insulin, but he is now turning his nose up at the kibble. He only wants wet I think. So I'll call the vet this morning and make sure that his dosage is ok for an all-wet diet.
 
and please get your meter asap...i think it should go hand in hand with your first dosing really. do you know what you dx # was? i'm wondering if you ccould wait on the shots.
 
actually 2u's one time a day does'nt sound right at all. perhaps hold off until we can get to know your situation better and you get your glucometer. i can send you one in a newbie kit if your dx number was not too dreadfully high.
i really don't like the dosing advice (yes, mods i said it) is why i'm concerned you must be testing with that first dose.
 
His bg on Saturday was 433. Too late on the shot-I gave it at 7 while he was eating his wet food. He's acting more normal now. Eating, good appetite. Still lethargic, but that's to be expected till we get him regulated. I called my vet to couble check on the dosing instructions and talked to a nurse. She confirmed that I am to give 2 units once a day. Apparently that's what my vet office does to start. I have read in other places that PZI will work for about 25% of cats with a single dose, but tht most require 2 doses. I also inquired about an all-wet diet (he's not into the gradual switch and seems to just want wet, though I did mix the wet with a bit of kibble for lunch just in case the dose of insulin is a bit too high) being very low in carbs and maybe requiring a adjustment in the dose and the vet didn't think that was warranted at this time. She said that 2 units 1x per day is a very safe starting point since it's a gentle insulin. He should be peaking in the next hour or 2 from that shot, so I'll keep an eye on him.
 
I know how hard it is to take the advice of people over the internet over your vet's advice. I see it as vets are sort of like GP's- they know a little about a lot of things but are not specialists. We are a community of hundreds of people who all have or have had a diabetic cat and are successfully treating them, often getting them into remission.

The protocol here) is to start low and go slow. One unit twice a day. Once you start testing, you will be able to see that the insulin most likely will all gone by the 12th hour and that your kitty will be high for the next 12 hours. And if you start at 2 units, you run the risk of starting over his ideal dose. When we first came on, our vet had started us at 4 units twice a day. Luckily, we learned how to hometest here and we rapidly reduced his dose, especially after we changed the food from dry to wet. He was off insulin in 6 months, thanks to the advice given here.

I know it is hard to go against your vet. But if I were you, I would cut the dose in half and give it twice a day, (one unit every 12 hours) And start hometesting so you can see what is really going on.
 
i have to agree with sue and i have been using pzi. it's not a 'gentle' insulin, rather it's a medium acting insulin. it peaks about +6 and goes down from there. it will not last 24 hours, it will tho' get you thru 12 hours hopefully.
the 2 U at once is big, there is no other way to say it. it is a big starting dose.
the dry food is ALWAYS a bad choice for diabetic cats.
the low carb canned is best.
your vet saying not now? if not now, then when....when he gets REALLY diabetic????
 
I confused by Lori and toms post... Not now what? My vet was find with the food switch to wet. I have a meter now. The attempt didn't get enough blood. He's eating again and looks better, so I'll try to test again later. And surely before his am dose.
 
sorry about confusion...your vet said your diet change is not warrented yet, or changing insulin dose due to diet change is not warrented yet.
i said if not now, then when?
 
Vet didn't think the new diet would require an insulin change. She also didn't think his vomiting/diarrhea/lack of appetite this afternoon was a result of hypo, but possibly the new food wAs too much on his stressed out tummy (j talked more about this in one of my other posts). He is feeling much better now. I now have 2 meters- I bought a 2nd one that uses less blood (.3 micros instead of 1 micro). Still haven't had enough blood to get a reading. We are all taking a break tonight. I will try again in the morning. I will also only shoot 1 unit maximum just in case. This is very stressful.
 
You might post your city and state in the subject line to see if someone lives nearby and could help you with hometesting.

If not, tell us what didn't work and we may have some ideas for you.

It is stressful at first. Once you have testing down and really know what is happening with him, it will feel so much better.
 
yes the beginning is pretty stressful...it won't be that way for long.
most if not all diet changes to wet food from dry is a change is carbs. we always find a significant drop in bg's when the diet is changed. i know with my tom he went down 100 points before i even started insulin. that is why you will see anywhere you ask on this board that when you change the diet if your not testing...or getting results yet, than lower your dose.
it's really good to see your dropping the dose :razz:
 
Yeah, I had a vet that told me I could give one shot a day, not test before each shot, and kicked the dose up to 2 units for no good reason.

I now have a rather large resentment against said vet. I didn't get a handle on the situation until I started listening to people here. And I put it off for a month, taking the advice of vets (plural) over the board. Until I almost missed a major hypo by testing less, as had been recommended to me by the same vets.

It is really stressful. But it's actually a lot less stressful when you have a decent understanding of diabetes and how to manage it and the guidance of all the experienced people here. You'll get the hang of it soon and it will all be second nature. You're in great hands here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top