Missy & Jazz
Member Since 2013
Hi again everyone,
Thank you for your help before - will reply other posts later, limited time now, sorry!
I have read all the Lantus/glargine threads I could find here (and articles for dosing protocol by Rand & Roomp), but am getting a bit confused with correct starting dose.
My cat is 17 yo, newly diagnosed, due to start the insulin tonight. The vet has prescribed an initial dose of 1 IU of glargine twice a day (so 2 IU daily).
Jazz (cat) weighs 2.89 kg (= 6 lb). (SMALL! lol)
At the vet last Tues (9th April), her BG level was tested by vet at 31.3 mmol/L (I think this is 563.4 mg/dL).
I have a glucometer (Freestyle Optium) and have started testing yesterday.
7 pm yesterday she tested BG 19.3 mmol/L (347.4 mg/dl).
7 am today (it's now 4 pm) she tested BG 15.4 mmol/L (277.2 mg/dl). So she seems to be going down a bit, just with the switch from dry to wet food.
Note all those readings are WITHOUT insulin at all. Also, I have not adjusted the readings I took - they are just as read off the (human) machine. Not sure if I need to adjust with that meter to account for any differences b/t human/feline blood? I have a feeling the meter reads BG from whole blood, but converts results to blood plasma BG reading (apparently closer to lab results) - have to contact company to check that. Would that alter results? (yes I am really new at this!)
Vet has prescribed home BG checks before each meal (after which she will have insulin) and middle of the day (6-8 hrs after morning insulin shot). I intend to do that more often - esp. first few days (ideally every 1-2 hrs over next 1-2 days).
Vet has also noted that we shouldn't change initial starting dose in the first week, but may adjust appropriately later as required. That sounds ok to me, except I am worried that the starting dose is possibly too high?
I have tried to calculate correct recommended starting dose -
R&R suggest starting with 0.25 IU/kg of ideal weight BID which would = 0.25/about 3.5 - 4 kg = so 0.07 to 0.06 IU BID. Am I doing this wrong??? I think I must be, that sounds like an incredibly small dosage (not to mention no idea how to measure that out - our Aust syringes do not even half 0.5 IU markings!gah!).
I thought / is divided by, but is it x instead?? Sorry for daft questions.
If the calc is 0.25 IU x kg of ideal weight BID, that would equal 0.875 - 1 IU BID which makes more sense in terms of measuring dosage and sounds more in line with vet's dosage. However, she is obviously somewhat smaller than ideal weight - will that be an issue? Vet is well aware of her size, and I really don't think she would accidentally dose her too high, but obviously I want to make completely sure!
I have also read the start low, go slow protocol (http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm) which suggests 1 - 2 IU BID - this also seems in line with vet's dosage, especially given Jazz's relatively high recent BGs.
I am going to call my vet shortly to ask something else about BG curves (I am making them to send her), not sure if I should query starting dose?
Does 1 IU BID sound reasonable to others as a starting dose, with Jazz's size?
Sorry if all that is rambly!
Thanks so much! Your opinions muchly appreciated
Thank you for your help before - will reply other posts later, limited time now, sorry!
I have read all the Lantus/glargine threads I could find here (and articles for dosing protocol by Rand & Roomp), but am getting a bit confused with correct starting dose.
My cat is 17 yo, newly diagnosed, due to start the insulin tonight. The vet has prescribed an initial dose of 1 IU of glargine twice a day (so 2 IU daily).
Jazz (cat) weighs 2.89 kg (= 6 lb). (SMALL! lol)
At the vet last Tues (9th April), her BG level was tested by vet at 31.3 mmol/L (I think this is 563.4 mg/dL).
I have a glucometer (Freestyle Optium) and have started testing yesterday.
7 pm yesterday she tested BG 19.3 mmol/L (347.4 mg/dl).
7 am today (it's now 4 pm) she tested BG 15.4 mmol/L (277.2 mg/dl). So she seems to be going down a bit, just with the switch from dry to wet food.
Note all those readings are WITHOUT insulin at all. Also, I have not adjusted the readings I took - they are just as read off the (human) machine. Not sure if I need to adjust with that meter to account for any differences b/t human/feline blood? I have a feeling the meter reads BG from whole blood, but converts results to blood plasma BG reading (apparently closer to lab results) - have to contact company to check that. Would that alter results? (yes I am really new at this!)
Vet has prescribed home BG checks before each meal (after which she will have insulin) and middle of the day (6-8 hrs after morning insulin shot). I intend to do that more often - esp. first few days (ideally every 1-2 hrs over next 1-2 days).
Vet has also noted that we shouldn't change initial starting dose in the first week, but may adjust appropriately later as required. That sounds ok to me, except I am worried that the starting dose is possibly too high?
I have tried to calculate correct recommended starting dose -
R&R suggest starting with 0.25 IU/kg of ideal weight BID which would = 0.25/about 3.5 - 4 kg = so 0.07 to 0.06 IU BID. Am I doing this wrong??? I think I must be, that sounds like an incredibly small dosage (not to mention no idea how to measure that out - our Aust syringes do not even half 0.5 IU markings!gah!).
I thought / is divided by, but is it x instead?? Sorry for daft questions.
If the calc is 0.25 IU x kg of ideal weight BID, that would equal 0.875 - 1 IU BID which makes more sense in terms of measuring dosage and sounds more in line with vet's dosage. However, she is obviously somewhat smaller than ideal weight - will that be an issue? Vet is well aware of her size, and I really don't think she would accidentally dose her too high, but obviously I want to make completely sure!
I have also read the start low, go slow protocol (http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm) which suggests 1 - 2 IU BID - this also seems in line with vet's dosage, especially given Jazz's relatively high recent BGs.
I am going to call my vet shortly to ask something else about BG curves (I am making them to send her), not sure if I should query starting dose?
Does 1 IU BID sound reasonable to others as a starting dose, with Jazz's size?
Sorry if all that is rambly!
Thanks so much! Your opinions muchly appreciated