Starting advice please for Loki

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Hi, all
I am excited and nailbite_smile at the same time. Loki going from PZI to Lantus today, so my question is this. He gets his first unit at 11AM because of last night's late shot due to his numbers (have updated his SS) so now I am getting ready to give him his first dose (watched the video over and over last night) I may have missed when to do extra test, would it be +2 or +6 ? He starts on 1 unit at AMPS and 1 unit at PMPS. I have a no shoot # at 200.
Thanks all and looking forward to getting to know you all .
Mimi and Loki
 
Welcome!

You can test anytime, but if you're limited, go for +6 since most cats will nadir somewhere between +5 and +7. There will be times when you need to test more often, but to start, before each shot and +6 and then a 'lights out' test before you go to bed, usually a +3 or 4. That's 4 a day, which seems like a lot when you are just starting to get used to it, but when they decide to nose dive, you'll be doing it a lot more often. :-D

In time, you'll want to do a curve occasionally, which is testing every 2 hrs for a 12 hr cycle. Much cheaper for you to do it than the vet, plus kitty won't have higher numbers due to vet stress, so your curve numbers will be more accurate. :-D

I have yet to run a curve, but Lucian gets tested so much these days, I don't need to. :lol:

Good luck to you and your Sugar Cat and if you have any questions, there is usually someone around to help.
 
Deb pretty much handled when to test when first starting out with Lantus...so the only other thing I'm going to add is that you won't be changing doses based on his preshot numbers, nor will you be working with a sliding scale...as well as Lantus works completely different from Prozinc, you will need to hold your starting dose between 5-7 days in the very beginning to build up his depot. So be prepared for some wonky numbers in the beginning.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Read over the sticky posts starting in the Topics section in both Lantus TR and Relaxed Lantus thoroughly!

These will help you understand the ways to use, store, adjust doses, and more.
 
Thanks Mel. After looking at Loki's SS I realized that she was using a different dosing scale for him. ohmygod_smile

Just want to press the point that consistency is key with Lantus, both in dose and timing, for a good result.

There are always the rare incidents, when we oversleep and the shot is late or we inadvertently give a fur shot, or can't get home in time, etc, that will mess them up temporarily, but getting back on schedule will fix that in a couple days, usually. It can't be helped, we've all done it, but do our best to stick to schedule. Makes for a healthier, happier kitty. cat_pet_icon

Life happens and sometimes can't be controlled, so you do the very best you can and not beat yourself up when things don't go according to plan. The fact that you care enough to try to learn the steps to this dance, says a lot, you'll do fine and so will Loki. :YMHUG:
 
Speaking of oversleeping, missing, etc.

When you need to shift the time for shots, you may do either two 15 minute shot time changes per day or one 30 minute shot time change per day unti you get back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top