started lantus. advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

kathpj

Member Since 2012
Hi I started Red on lantus last night (Im in NZ)
PMPS 324, gave 1 unit. PM+1 302.4, PM+2 210.6
AMPS 102.6 1 unit given. Am I right that if the reading had been under 50 no shot. Should I have kept at 1 unit for this am shot. Done now but what in the future?
What are the important +shot testings. I am doing these at home.
Thanks Kath
 
Actually with someone that is just starting out, we say if under 200 no shoot but what done is done and since you are testing at home you can keep an eye on Red to make sure he doesn't hypo.

Once we know how our cats are going to handle a particular dose then we can move that no shoot number lower and lower. There are some really good stickies on how to handle lower numbers over on the Tight Regulation group. As far as testing times the most important with Lantus are of course before each shot and at nadir (the lowest point in cycle between shots) usually but not always that is at about +6. You may have to catch a few random spot checks to figure out about where Red's nadir is and it can move around a bit as well...but after a few months of testing you should figure out about where it is likely to hit. The other test I like to get is what I call my "lights out" test, that spot check right before I turn into bed for the night. However, any spot checks you get in early on helps fill out Red's personal pattern because Every Cat Is Different. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top