Stalling x 1.5 hr need HELP. AMPS current 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marie & Kevin

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone,

It appears my cat nadirs happen ~13-14hr post-evening dose sometimes (seen on spreadsheet 12/14, 12/15, 12/17, 12/18). I gave his evening dose a little late last night around 9:20PM. This AMPS he was 176 so I have held off but am still stalling as he went +20min 159, +40min 148, +60min 150, +80min 148.

I am stalling and not sure what to do. I know Lantus is not based on pre-insulin glucose, but it scares me to give 8U at this dose. I'm not sure what to do or how long to wait.

Any help appreciated, thank you
 
I’m sorry no one has answered you. Did you post on the Lantus forum? You’ll get faster responses there. You can give a token dose if you’re worried about a lower preshot, unless you can monitor throughout the day and that may be difficult on a holiday
 
I’m sorry no one has answered you. Did you post on the Lantus forum? You’ll get faster responses there. You can give a token dose if you’re worried about a lower preshot, unless you can monitor throughout the day and that may be difficult on a holiday

Thank you for your response. I’m new here so thank you for your recommendations regarding where to post. Kevin’s glucose finally came up to 188 so I gave his insulin. He has a freestyle libre on right now and I’m home all day so will keep a close eye on him. I just hate that sometimes his nadir happens at ~13-14 hours post evening dose when I’m ready to give AM dose.
 
I hear ya. Minnie sometimes would be in the 70’s at am preshot time. With experience and the guidance of some real pros here, I started getting comfortable shooting her at those low preshot numbers and keeping her bg from going too low with food. I also had gathered a ton of data by that point so I knew her bg patterns well. That’s eventually where you want to be because that’s when you’ll see those nice blue and green numbers throughout the cycle. But again, not right now as you’re learning. And yes, this is a good place for general questions, but for anything shooting wise that’s urgent, do post on the Lantus forum as that’s monitored by the Lantus pros.

Happy Holidays! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Question, I see he’s on dry food. Have you considered transitioning him to a low carb wet food diet. I’m pretty sure his dose would go down if you did. 8 units is so high :( I looked at your spreadsheet and also want to point out that we recommend the dose adjustments be by 1/4 unit increments as opposed to full units.

how is the neuropathy going? Zobaline will help with that once he’s regulated
 
I hear ya. Minnie sometimes would be in the 70’s at am preshot time. With experience and the guidance of some real pros here, I started getting comfortable shooting her at those low preshot numbers and keeping her bg from going too low with food. I also had gathered a ton of data by that point so I knew her bg patterns well. That’s eventually where you want to be because that’s when you’ll see those nice blue and green numbers throughout the cycle. But again, not right now as you’re learning. And yes, this is a good place for general questions, but for anything shooting wise that’s urgent, do post on the Lantus forum as that’s monitored by the Lantus pros.

Happy Holidays! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much and Happy Holidays as well. His blood glucose is now 218 +1.5hr post-dose so I can finally breathe a little.
 
Question, I see he’s on dry food. Have you considered transitioning him to a low carb wet food diet. I’m pretty sure his dose would go down if you did. 8 units is so high :( I looked at your spreadsheet and also want to point out that we recommend the dose adjustments be by 1/4 unit increments as opposed to full units.

how is the neuropathy going? Zobaline will help with that once he’s regulated

We initially tried wet food but he wound't eat it and the vet just wanted him eating after his DKA event. After getting some more advice on transitioning back to wet on this forum I plan to do that in the next month and see how it goes. The 8 units does make me very nervous.

His neuropathy is stable - No worse but definitely not better. It did lead to him gaining 0.6lbs in the last month as he doesn't want to walk much. I bought kitty stairs for my couch/bed and have placed yoga mats on my hard wood/tile to encourage him to. That is helping a little and I will call him to me to help gain his confidence back walking as he was slipping and falling before on the tile and I think that has made I'm scared to walk as much as well. I have not heard of Zobaline so will definitely look into this as well, thank you.
 
. I have not heard of Zobaline so will definitely look into this as well, thank you.
Hi Marie the Methyl B-12 from Vitacost I gave you on your other post is the same as Zobaline plus it's so much cheaper and you get more in the bottle

Don't forget to update your spreadsheet, you have 161 for the AMPS but you shot when it was 188 ,so put that in the AMPS spot
 
Last edited:
Read through this thread when you have a chance. Minnie had severe neuropathy and recovered almost completely once she was regulated and I had her on the generic version of zobaline:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/zobaline-and-leg-neuropathy-question.224153/

When Minnie had neuropathy did she walk with an arched back? Kevin seems to be getting more strength in his hind legs and will walk a little further before stopping but he still walks with the middle of his back arching up. It is similar to the look a cat does when it is scared when it arches its back. I asked my vet about it as I am concerned it could be from pain (Kevin has arthritis as well) but my vet was not sure and wanted to wait until his gait is normal again. Everything I see online says cats arch their back when in pain but it always talks about when laying down. He is very comfortable laying down and will spread out and often lays completely on his back with his belly up. I didn't know what your experience has been.
 
No arched back. She basically dragged her back legs and would slip under her all the time. She was also on gabapentin, which they thought could help with the neuropathy and arthritis. I’m not sure it did, but it may be worth asking your vet about it.
 
No arched back. She basically dragged her back legs and would slip under her all the time. She was also on gabapentin, which they thought could help with the neuropathy and arthritis. I’m not sure it did, but it may be worth asking your vet about it.

okay thank you so much. We have an appointment next week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top