? stalling, should I give insuln

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Active Member
hi everyone:
Tonight my cats BG was 104 at 5 pm so I didn’t give him any insulin when I fed him.Previously my vet had said no insulin under 200 but to give insulin if BG is above 200. When I took another reading at ten his BG was 360, should I give him insulin now to decrease his BG by the morning, thoughts please

He gets 1unit twice a day
 
hi everyone:
Tonight my cats BG was 104 at 5 pm so I didn’t give him any insulin when I fed him.Previously my vet had said no insulin under 200 but to give insulin if BG is above 200. When I took another reading at ten his BG was 360, should I give him insulin now to decrease his BG by the morning, thoughts please

He gets 1unit twice a day
I suggest you wait until tomorrow AM. If you dose now the time to AM dose will be shortened and you might get some overlap with the AM dose. It’s best to give doses 12 hours apart.
 
I suggest you wait until tomorrow AM. If you dose now the time to AM dose will be shortened and you might get some overlap with the AM dose. It’s best to give doses 12 hours apart.
Is it normal to skip injection if readings are in and out of normal ranges. For example if BG level is within normal range in am but above normal range in pm is skipping a dose acceptable/normal
 
I suggest you wait until tomorrow AM. If you dose now the time to AM dose will be shortened and you might get some overlap with the AM dose. It’s best to give doses 12 hours apart.
On a good note marmalade stayed at the vets today and they tested for keytones, infection , and possible weight loss in light of diarrhea and vomiting this past 2-3 weeks but everything was normal. So far he had a better appetite tonight and has kept food down.
 
Is it normal to skip injection if readings are in and out of normal ranges. For example if BG level is within normal range in am but above normal range in pm is skipping a dose acceptable/normal
This can be done occasionally. If you have quite a few of theses situations happening it can mean that the dose is too high.
 
It could be that he’s bouncing in reaction to that low number at 5 PM or it could be high because he didn’t get his dose earlier.
I am pretty sure he got 1 unit at the vets because the vet said to resume normal doseage and feeding schedule with next meal time. I am going to test tomorrow, 5/6am, do u think it will be going down by then
 
I am pretty sure he got 1 unit at the vets because the vet said to resume normal doseage and feeding schedule with next meal time. I am going to test tomorrow, 5/6am, do u think it will be going down by then
I expect his BG will be high because of no shot tonight. Try not to worry about that. You can start over tomorrow. Give some thought to setting up a spreadsheet for him.
 
I expect his BG will be high because of no shot tonight. Try not to worry about that. You can start over tomorrow. Give some thought to setting up a spreadsheet for him.
Hi, I wanted to continue his, marmalades, numbers with since he has returned from the vets Saturday afternoon:

Saturday afternoon at 6 his BG was great at 104, no insulin given
10p- BG was 350
* at the vets he got a unit of insulin ay 9:30a so his next injection should of st 9:30p I didn’t think about it and stuck to his regular injection time which was 6p.

12/10/17
6:30a- BG 341, 1 unit, ate all 1/2 cup of food.
10:45a-BG 305
4:12p- BG 396


My question is this “ should I bump him to 1.5 units at his next meal time, 6p, as his numbers are Going up?

He was on 2.5 previously until a BG drop of 69 then his numbers climbed so I started him on 1 unit to be safe but now I’m thinking that I should increase by .5 as his numbers are climbing. Before all his diarrhea and his vomiting he was on 2.5 and his numbers were no more than 300’s
 
Hi, I wanted to continue his, marmalades, numbers with since he has returned from the vets Saturday afternoon:

Saturday afternoon at 6 his BG was great at 104, no insulin given
10p- BG was 350
* at the vets he got a unit of insulin ay 9:30a so his next injection should of st 9:30p I didn’t think about it and stuck to his regular injection time which was 6p.

12/10/17
6:30a- BG 341, 1 unit, ate all 1/2 cup of food.
10:45a-BG 305
4:12p- BG 396


My question is this “ should I bump him to 1.5 units at his next meal time, 6p, as his numbers are Going up?

He was on 2.5 previously until a BG drop of 69 then his numbers climbed so I started him on 1 unit to be safe but now I’m thinking that I should increase by .5 as his numbers are climbing. Before all his diarrhea and his vomiting he was on 2.5 and his numbers were no more than 300’s
Given that you've dropped the dose, are testing and his numbers are high I think you can bump him to 1.5 u for tonight's shot. Get a test in before bed to see what happens at that higher dose. Leave him at it tomorrow and gather pre shot data and at least one test around 6 hours after the morning injection. Make sure he has all food removed at least 2 hours before the AM and PM pre shot tests.
 
K, thank u for being patient with me. I have to work until 3:30/4 tomorrow but I’ll do as u ask and get numbers tomorrow am and pm. Once again, thank u for your help
 
Hi, I wanted to continue his, marmalades, numbers with since he has returned from the vets Saturday afternoon:

Saturday afternoon at 6 his BG was great at 104, no insulin given
10p- BG was 350
* at the vets he got a unit of insulin ay 9:30a so his next injection should of st 9:30p I didn’t think about it and stuck to his regular injection time which was 6p.

12/10/17
6:30a- BG 341, 1 unit, ate all 1/2 cup of food.
10:45a-BG 305
4:12p- BG 396


My question is this “ should I bump him to 1.5 units at his next meal time, 6p, as his numbers are Going up?

He was on 2.5 previously until a BG drop of 69 then his numbers climbed so I started him on 1 unit to be safe but now I’m thinking that I should increase by .5 as his numbers are climbing. Before all his diarrhea and his vomiting he was on 2.5 and his numbers were no more than 300’s
BG at 6p was 425, 1.5 units, 1/2 cup of food (continuation of 12/10/17)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top