Stalling! Need Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Who is giving you dosing advice? This is not the way lantus is dosed. I’m glad you have a spreadsheet. Bare with me as I have lots of questions. Don’t shoot until we sort this out. Let me know that you saw this.
Per vet wanted to increase to 4 units a week ago when Tango's numbers were higher. Then due to lower #s said to stay at 3. When Tango dipped to below 200
Bhooma was assisting me. Need to give dose now as my husband needs to leave and I cannot give injection on my own.
 
What are you feeding? When stalling you don’t feed. You want to see if the bg is coming up on its own. No food is given 2 hours before shots until you know what kind of a food bump your cat gets from food.
 
Per vet wanted to increase to 4 units a week ago when Tango's numbers were higher. Then due to lower #s said to stay at 3. When Tango dipped to below 200
Bhooma was assisting me. Need to give dose now as my husband needs to leave and I cannot give injection on my own.
My husband will be back in about an hour. Is it better to wait til then?
 
What are you feeding? When stalling you don’t feed. You want to see if the bg is coming up on its own. No food is given 2 hours before shots until you know what kind of a food bump your cat gets from food.
We fed Tango at 6:20am and tested at 8:00am. He finished food right away. Has a healthy appetite. Mostly Weruva Paw Lich'n Chicken and Almo Nature and FF Pate. No dry food. We did not feed after first test. Waited 20 minutes, tested again at 135. Fed him 1/2 can Almo Nature.
 
@Bandit's Mom Tagging Bhooma. It looks like this is your first post. Did you just come over from our Facebook group?
This is my first post on the Message Board. I posted last week on the Feline Diabetes FB page. Signed up on MB on 8/2. I'm still trying to figure out how everything works and having trouble navigating around. I did see where signature is required and entered my name. I thought I had already done that.
Did not shoot yet. Going to wait for my husband to get back, which should be by 9:45. Normal dosing time is 9:00am and 9:00pm give or take a few minutes.

I'm getting more confused. We fed Tango at 6:20am. Waited until 8:00 to test to allow for 2 hours before testing and injection. His BG was 134. Waited another 20 minutes to test BG without feeding and his BG was 135. We went ahead and gave him 1/2 can of wet food - 1.5 oz.
 
This is my first post on the Message Board. I posted last week on the Feline Diabetes FB page. Signed up on MB on 8/2. I'm still trying to figure out how everything works and having trouble navigating around. I did see where signature is required and entered my name. I thought I had already done that.
Did not shoot yet. Going to wait for my husband to get back, which should be by 9:45. Normal dosing time is 9:00am and 9:00pm give or take a few minutes.

I'm getting more confused. We fed Tango at 6:20am. Waited until 8:00 to test to allow for 2 hours before testing and injection. His BG was 134. Waited another 20 minutes to test BG without feeding and his BG was 135. We went ahead and gave him 1/2 can of wet food - 1.5 oz.

EDIT... Testing time is 8:30 not 8:00am. Sorry. I need to slow down.
 
The procedure is you test, feed, shoot all within about 10 minutes. So test to see what if high enough to shoot. Feed to make sure Tango will eat. If both are a go then you shoot. If bg is lower than normal you stall WITHOUT FOOD and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if it’s coming up or at least not going down.

I’m going to link the signature details. It will include things like date of diagnosis, type of meter used (human or pet) , food fed, age of cat, any other medications or illnesses. That way we won’t keep asking the same questions. We also will need you to pick a dosing method. I will link that as well.

Since testing time is 8:30, pick up any food at 6:30. Then test, feed , shoot at 8:30.
 
Lantus dose is based on how low the BG is dropping, not the pre shots
You also need to be testing more at night

, if you plan on posting on the Lantus board from now on
Here is how you would do it
So if you start tomorrow morning you put the
Date, Tango AMPS # and any other tests you do after that like the BG number @+2 ,etc
To go back and add those tests to your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title , add those tests and tap save
You can continue with her PMPS numbers on the same title :cat:
We also link your previous days post to the new one
 
Ok. Appreciate your help, but I'm just getting more confused. Sounds like I should be posting on the Lantus board. First I posted on Feline Diabetes page, then was told to post on FDMB, which that took awhile to figure out. Now I should post on the lantus board. I've read through links sent for the lantus board and your instructions. How do I get to the lantus board? I'll do more navigating and see if I can figure it out. I need to step out now. Ugh!!!!
 
Ok. Appreciate your help, but I'm just getting more confused. Sounds like I should be posting on the Lantus board. First I posted on Feline Diabetes page, then was told to post on FDMB, which that took awhile to figure out. Now I should post on the lantus board. I've read through links sent for the lantus board and your instructions. How do I get to the lantus board? I'll do more navigating and see if I can figure it out. I need to step out now. Ugh!!!!


I totally sympathize. I felt the same way when I was asked to start posting on the Lantus forum. It is really not a big deal, and it will help you help your kitty. I am over there pretty much all the time, feel free to reach out to me for any help if you're confused at all.

Here is the link:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
I totally sympathize. I felt the same way when I was asked to start posting on the Lantus forum. It is really not a big deal, and it will help you help your kitty. I am over there pretty much all the time, feel free to reach out to me for any help if you're confused at all.

Here is the link:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Thank you for reaching out. If I click on above link, it takes me to the same page as the FDMB where I started this post. At the top it says Start New Post. I just don't get it. I'm fairly computer literate and trying to navigate my way around. If I signed up for the FDMB, am I also able to access lantus board or do I have to sign up specifically for LB?
 
Thank you for reaching out. If I click on above link, it takes me to the same page as the FDMB where I started this post. At the top it says Start New Post. I just don't get it. I'm fairly computer literate and trying to navigate my way around. If I signed up for the FDMB, am I also able to access lantus board or do I have to sign up specifically for LB?

You don't have to sign up for the Lantus board, and it can look like the main board in terms of format, but it is not the same. The link is good and will take you there. It's the best place for you to post regularly. This can all be really overwhelming and confusing at first--I know it was for me. But you'll learn bit by bit and keep your kitty safe as you learn. You're very welcome and I will keep an eye out for you there.
 
I believe what happened was you made this post in the lantus board but a moderator moved it here to the general intro board.

very confusing for a non-computer person. Totally understand.
 
Lantus dose is based on how low the BG is dropping, not the pre shots
We also increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time not whole units
Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings?

You also need to be testing more at night

, if you plan on posting on the Lantus board from now on
Here is how you would do it
So if you start tomorrow morning you put the
Date, Tango AMPS # and any other tests you do after that like the BG number @+2 ,etc
To go back and add those tests to your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title , add those tests and tap save
You can continue with her PMPS numbers on the same title :cat:
We also link your previous days post to the new one


The link Kyle gave you is correct
To the right click on Post New Thread and follow what I told you above

Here is the link:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/


You can introduce yourself and say it's your first post on the lantus board :cat:

If you don't have the U-100 syringes with half units you can get these
these:

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct



If you have a Walmart by you this was posted by one of our members , but you need to go into the store to buy them , they are not sold on their site

As for syringes, if you have a Walmart near you, you can get U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (the 3/10ml syringes ALL have half unit marks no matter what they might tell you). They should hold a maximum of 30 units. Either one of these is fine (and can be 30 gauge or 31) They are $12.58/100





upload_2022-7-12_20-33-38-jpeg.64779


30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top