Stalling, Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

putus_human

Member Since 2020
So Putu threw up last night after we went to bed and her AMPS was 225 on a pet meter. I had decided on a no-shoot number of below 250 (both because we're on a pet meter and because we're new at this).

Her pre-shots have been all over the place this past week (300-600), but I've never shot this low. Should I be giving a reduced shot? I was thinking of going back down from 1.75 to 1.25 or even 1 if she's above 250 when I retest her again in a few minutes.

Any advice would be appreciated.
 
Can you monitor all morning, and do you have high carb foods, honey, and plenty of strips in case you have to do a lot of testing?
Yes, I can monitor and I have all those things in my hypo kit.

It looks to me as if she is just now getting over a bounce from the blues a couple days ago
Could you please let me know how to spot a bounce? I thought the blues from 11/12/2020 were a good thing.
 
Could you please let me know how to spot a bounce? I thought the blues from 11/12/2020 were a good thing.

They are a good thing! Putu's body just isn't used to them yet, so it's overreacting to the perceived low numbers. The more time he spends in the blues (and, eventually, greens), the more he'll get used to them and the less bouncing he'll do.

I'm only guessing about the bounce right now, they're easier to spot after you have a few more possible examples. They take shape over the medium term, with the high BGs lasting possibly several days after the low. So you really need to see them happening a few times to get a feel for how (if) a cat bounces, what kinds of numbers cause them, how long they go on, etc. So this is just a guess right now.
 
Actually, I'm looking through some guidelines and it looks like I want to reduce her by at least one-half and give her at least one-third.

So, doing the math...

1.75/3 = 0.6

1.75/2 = 0.9

So a number between there would 0.75 units. I'll aim for that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top