STALLING - Help - PMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rae's Family

Member Since 2025
Hi all, we just switched to Lantus yesterday and Rae seems to be leveling out on it even if she's still high. I'm happy there's no more bouncing.

However, we tested at AM +11 to see if we could feed her a little early,and her BG was 200. Didn't feed, waited for the PMPS which just came back 201. Now we're stalling.

She hasn't dipped very low in the last couple days and she's on a low dose, but I wanted to check here before I gave her shot.

Thank you to all you kind people!:bighug:
 
Looks like you went with half a dose, I think that’s fine for now, even if she runs a little higher she will recover.

You should post over in the Lantus forum, you might get a quicker response over there for next time. Congrats on the insulin switch!
 
You could have giving the full dose with a preshot of 200.:)
Tim’s idea of moving over to the Lantus page now is a good one. Once we have you all set up and sorted we suggest moving over there.

Here is your last thread for continuity https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/t-f-w-s-with-lantus.297996/#post-3242780

I’m wondering why you reduced the dose back down to 1 unit when starting Lantus?
Typically you take into consideration the dose of the last insulin when starting a new insulin.
Please keep testing foe ketones while you have her on a lower dose.
 
I’m wondering why you reduced the dose back down to 1 unit when starting Lantus?

That's what the new vet suggested. It also allowed us to get her completely off the dry food... The vet did a physical exam of Rae's bladder (I think?) and the vet said that was enough for her to not be worried about ketones. I'm still going to spot test with ketostix when I can, but so far Rae's shown no evidence of any level of ketones.
 
You could have giving the full dose with a preshot of 200

Thank you for the validation. I just wasn't sure and couldn't stall any longer without really screwing up our 12/12 schedule, so my husband and I did what we felt comfortable with. I figured we would probably be okay with the full dose, but she just hasn't been on the Lantus long enough for me to feel positive.
 
Thank you for the validation. I just wasn't sure and couldn't stall any longer without really screwing up our 12/12 schedule, so my husband and I did what we felt comfortable with. I figured we would probably be okay with the full dose, but she just hasn't been on the Lantus long enough for me to feel positive.
That ok to do what you did. It’s all a learning curve. Remember Lantus doesn’t onset for about 2 hours so the BG will most likely rise in that 2 hours.
 
I'm still going to spot test with ketostix when I can, but so far Rae's shown no evidence of any level of ketones.
The reason I am suggesting testing the ketones daily at the moment is because ketones can form when there is not enough insulin or not enough food. So to be on the safe side, as you reduced the dose quite a bit, it’s a good insurance policy to do that testing. Hopefully no ketones will appear, but if they did you would catch them very early before they caused an issue.
 
The reason I am suggesting testing the ketones daily at the moment is because ketones can form when there is not enough insulin or not enough food. So to be on the safe side, as you reduced the dose quite a bit, it’s a good insurance policy to do that testing. Hopefully no ketones will appear, but if they did you would catch them very early before they caused an issue.

Yeah, I will do as much as I can, I just can't always get it every day as she is a very sneaky pee-er! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top