STALLING! HELP Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BellaBlue82

Member Since 2021
Hey folks,
So Nico was in Clavamox liquid for the past week or so. Yesterday it finally caught up with him, (as I feel it does eventually in everyone lol) and he was having some very loose stool. Texted vet, said it's almost been 10 days so ok to stop and see if that helps. Bowel movements went back to normal (he just went this AM.)
Ironically, the day after we stopped Clavamox his AMPS is 162! I'm stalling now to see if it comes up after eating, but even if it does I don't feel comfortable giving him his full 1.5 dose. Help?!
 
When you stall, you don’t feed, wait 20 minutes and then test again to see if is has come up.
Reading what you have written, you have feed him, is that correct?
 
Yes, I'm so sorry, I guess I got that mixed up. I'll try to remember for next time! This is the first time he had an AMPS below 250 and I kinda freaked.

He is coming back up though, I just took it again and it's at 301.
 
Yes, I'm so sorry, I guess I got that mixed up. I'll try to remember for next time! This is the first time he had an AMPS below 250 and I kinda freaked.

He is coming back up though, I just took it again and it's at 301.
It’s all a learning curve, so don’t worry.
How long ago did you feed him?
 
Yes, his ordinary FF pate he loves. He ate a good amount.
OK. So the BG is food influenced but it looks like he could be bouncing from the lower than normal preshot.
Are you going to be around today to monitor the whole cycle, and do you have high carb food and honey if needed and plenty of test strips?
 
OK. So the BG is food influenced but it looks like he could be bouncing from the lower than normal preshot.
Are you going to be around today to monitor the while cycle, and do you have high carb food and honey if needed and plenty of test strips?
Ok, I was thinking it may be a bounce to a number he wasn't used to. I will be home today thank goodness, yes have some high carb food and my hypo kit ready just in case! Sadly I'm getting low on his test strips (more should be arriving soon), but should have enough to follow his cycle today.
Thank you!!!
 
Ok, I was thinking it may be a bounce to a number he wasn't used to. I will be home today thank goodness, yes have some high carb food and my hypo kit ready just in case! Sadly I'm getting low on his test strips (more should be arriving soon), but should have enough to follow his cycle today.
Thank you!!!
I see you are following the SLGS method and using Prozinc, so I think, because the 301 was food influenced, and you are getting low on test strips, it might be an idea to reduce the dose a bit.
How would you feel about giving 1 unit?
 
I see you are following the SLGS method and using Prozinc, so I think, because the 301 was food influenced, and you are getting low on test strips, it might be an idea to reduce the dose a bit.
How would you feel about giving 1 unit?
I'm a little worried to go that low since he had some really high numbers in the past, but did reduce to 1.25. I'm going to keep an eye on him, I think I have enough strips to watch him during the day. He usually doesn't nadir until about +6 or +7 and I'll definitely be checking that too.

Honestly I don't know what I would do without this forum and all the wonderful people here, I'm such a nervous Nelly but finding you all has helped tremendously! Otherwise I'd be asking Dr. Google and that's not good lol...
 
Last edited:
I'm a little worried to go that low since he had some really high numbers in the past, but did reduce to 1.25. I'm going to keep an eye on him, I think I have enough strips to watch him during the day. He usually doesn't nadir until about +6 or +7 and I'll definitely be checking that too.
Ok. You know him best. Well done.
Next time if he gets a low preshot, stall, dont feed, then test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Post and ask for help as you did today.

With the SS, can you stack the 162@+12, then the 301@+12.75 in the preshot box and the 301 is the preshot BG. You start counting the +1 , +2 etc from the new preshot time.

I would also suggest trying to get a BG in every night to see how low he is going. I would say he dropped lower last night and that is why you got 162 at +12.
I would also get +2 or +3 this cycle to see what he is doing.
 
Ok. You know him best. Well done.
Next time if he gets a low preshot, stall, dont feed, then test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Post and ask for help as you did today.

With the SS, can you stack the 162@+12, then the 301@+12.75 in the preshot box and the 301 is the preshot BG. You start counting the +1 , +2 etc from the new preshot time.

I would also suggest trying to get a BG in every night to see how low he is going. I would say he dropped lower last night and that is why you got 162 at +12.
I would also get +2 or +3 this cycle to see what he is doing.
Ok, thank you so much for your help and advice!! Yeah it was a rough day yesterday and I'm kicking myself for not getting a PM cycle test in. :( Just hard with the work schedule and all, but I'm really trying to get them in now. I notice how much they give a bigger picture.

I'll update my sheet and follow him today like a hawk lol. Thank you again!!
 
Ok, thank you so much for your help and advice!! Yeah it was a rough day yesterday and I'm kicking myself for not getting a PM cycle test in. :( Just hard with the work schedule and all, but I'm really trying to get them in now. I notice how much they give a bigger picture.

I'll update my sheet and follow him today like a hawk lol. Thank you again!!
You are very welcome.
I am so glad Nico’s bowels have settled down.
 
Thanks for fixing up the SS. In the remarks column you might like to put that you stalled but didn’t realise you had to not feed, and fed him….that will let the people helping you know what happened, after we go on from today and don’t have today’s information at hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top