? ? STALLING HELP 1/23 Petey AMPS #239 +3 235 +5 159 PMPS #142

It's PM shot time, and Petey is 142, steady drop all afternoon. Stall or shoot? Sorry to keep asking for help on this, just terrified of hypo!
 
137 every time he gets a snack he seems to be going down....

I don't feel experienced enough to give advice on dosing but if you don't feel confident enough you can always give partial dose or skip entirely. Also depends how closely you can monitor.
We have members including myself who shoot way below 100.

Also please add ? In your title so members can see you're looking for advice.
 
Added, ? thank you. Id love to be confident to shoot that low, just not there yet! I just have a gut feeling to stall a little longer. Seems strange he has not come up today.

Just an observation: I'm noticing that he occasionally drops right at the end of the cycle, like on 1/17. Typically, it seems at the end of the cycle, the cat would be going up. This is one of those "know your cat" issues that the material posted here discusses, I think.
 
Added, ? thank you. Id love to be confident to shoot that low, just not there yet! I just have a gut feeling to stall a little longer. Seems strange he has not come up today.

Totally understandable
I'm sorry I can't help you more than that. The best thing you can do is keep monitoring and decide if you wanna skip tonight and start fresh tomorrow.
But I'm hoping senior members or Admin will look at this soon.
 
Also @Laurie&Petey, the question mark you added is fine, but if you go to the edit title option (where you update your daily numbers in the title), you'll see a list of "prefix" options in a drop down menu, and among them is a question mark to select when you have a question.
 
Also @Laurie&Petey, the question mark you added is fine, but if you go to the edit title option (where you update your daily numbers in the title), you'll see a list of "prefix" options in a drop down menu, and among them is a question mark to select when you have a question.

:D learning new stuff every day. Fixed. He is still dropping, 133.
 
@Laurie, Scan down and look at Bandit Mom's response to this caregiver regarding a cat with ketones and skipping a dose: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-473-374-8-5-pmps-344.294806/#post-3213173

This is what I've seen others post before regarding skipping a dose. Unfortunately, I cannot give dosing advice, but I wanted to point this out as you're making a decision.

Thank you very much, you made me brave enough to give him 1.5u. I appreciate you sharing your knowledge so I could make a decision. I just have an "extra" weird feeling tonight. I'll keep testing tonight.
 
Thank you very much, you made me brave enough to give him 1.5u. I appreciate you sharing your knowledge so I could make a decision. I just have an "extra" weird feeling tonight. I'll keep testing tonight.
Good luck! Hold steady, Petey! And absolutely keep monitoring--I certainly would. Just know that the food (and syrup, if he goes way too low) is the tool to bring Petey's bg up in case he goes too low. I would test the first two hours for sure, but know that Lantus typically begins working at 2 hours, so you need to continue to keep monitoring. Post on the forum if you need help. Fingers crossed that he will have a safe night.
 
PM +1 is 112..... should I be concerned yet? Insulin doesn't typically hit him till +3.
When my cat reaches a point where I don't want him to drop any more, I begin administering food. I start with MC--1 tsp, if he isn't too low. (I offer him LC food all through the process, but I'm careful not to let him get so full he won't accept the MC or the HC food when it's necessary.) Food boosts his bg. Then I test in about 30 mins to see if that food is boosting him enough. If not, I switch to the HC food--just a tsp full. I continue feeding (usually a tsp per hour) and testing to ensure he is not going too low. I do this until his bg begins to increase. Just know that the effect of the food lasts for about two hours before it's out of his system, so you need to continue testing beyond that point to ensure he doesn't go too low once the effect of the food is depleted from his system.
 
Today looks like a bounce breaking cycle. Starting higher and dropping all cycle, and could be some action in the first part of the cycle too. Give him a little snack and test again in an hour.

As you discovered today, the down side to stalling too long is that they can go lower without food.
 
Today looks like a bounce breaking cycle. Starting higher and dropping all cycle, and could be some action in the first part of the cycle too. Give him a little snack and test again in an hour.

As you discovered today, the down side to stalling too long is that they can go lower without food.

I did give a snack which is just his wet food. He had a lot of food, every test he had his food.... and it seemed to drop him lower.
 
When stalling, the goal is not to feed, so that the number you eventually shoot is not influenced by food. Do you have a little bit higher carbs food/snack you can give?
 
When stalling, the goal is not to feed, so that the number you eventually shoot is not influenced by food. Do you have a little bit higher carbs food/snack you can give?

Yes I have some treats, how much would you suggest? I don't want to ruin a good thing, just keep him safe.

Is it strange that the food is not raising his BG today and is doing the opposite? Could this mean his pancreas is working better today?
 
Is it strange that the food is not raising his BG today and is doing the opposite?
It is very typical for a bounce breaking cycle to have downward momentum. Sometimes low won't be enough to stop the downward movement. But you actually do want him to get down to those lower numbers, so not a bad thing.
 
That high could be a combination of the lows he had yesterday (a bounce) and the token dose. It never feels good for us to see those high numbers, but as long as Petey doesn't stay high, he's okay. You're doing a great job with him--and I think the token dose was a good decision, especially rather than a complete skip. I hope he slides down gently today (and it looks like he is already).
 
Back
Top