Stalling, BG under 200

Romeo is 194, so I'm stalling his insulin and asking for advice as advised since he's under 200.

Also, I'm not sure how much more testing I can do today. I was trying to do his first curve and we're new to this and he is pretty much done with me. Growling, hissing and now even angrier because I didn't give him his food when I was done.
 
I am new too so cant give advice. Did you look at the Prozinc sticky? @FrostD usually comes on a little later. Try posting this on the main forum a little more traffic there.
 
The Prozinc dosing sticky ...
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose may be wise.
 
Back
Top