? Stalling and next day's timing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily Alsip

Member Since 2022
Hello! First time poster but have been on the FB page for a few weeks.

Holland has been on Lantus since 6/24, and we've been at 0.25U for six days. I'm doing an 18-hour curve.

Her numbers today are lower than typical, and I'm guessing she won't be over 150 in a little over two hours at shot time.
AMPS 184
+3 172
+6 125
+9 121

I know about stalling. But what if it takes a few hours of stalling to get above 150. How does that affect her next dose timing wise?

thank you!
Emily
 
I'm guessing she won't be over 150 in a little over two hours at shot time.

Just a little FYI....a lot can happen in the last 2-3 hours so it's not something you can really predict. We've seen cats go up 200 points in 2-3 hours.

But what if it takes a few hours of stalling to get above 150. How does that affect her next dose timing wise?

If you stall, your shot time is effected (but it depends a little on how long you stall). If you stall for 30 minutes, you can work your way back by shooting 15 minutes early per cycle or shoot 30 mins early once per day (if they're high enough).

We don't see a lot of stalls that go on longer than an hour (although there are some occasionally) Usually by then a decision is made whether to go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose (and plan on getting some extra tests in), skipping completely or giving a token dose.

Glad to hear you're planning on testing more tonight since you shot a lower PS than usual!

Remember, as long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of her blood glucose.
 
Just a little FYI....a lot can happen in the last 2-3 hours so it's not something you can really predict. We've seen cats go up 200 points in 2-3 hours.



If you stall, your shot time is effected (but it depends a little on how long you stall). If you stall for 30 minutes, you can work your way back by shooting 15 minutes early per cycle or shoot 30 mins early once per day (if they're high enough).

We don't see a lot of stalls that go on longer than an hour (although there are some occasionally) Usually by then a decision is made whether to go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose (and plan on getting some extra tests in), skipping completely or giving a token dose.

Glad to hear you're planning on testing more tonight since you shot a lower PS than usual!

Remember, as long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of her blood glucose.

Thank you! I'm so thrilled to see so much blue today. I hope she doesn't make me stay up all night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top