Stalking! Amps 321 +6 99 + 12 172

Janey & Bear

Member Since 2021
STALLING , NOT STALKING! Sorry guys, really nervous and had typo. Hi all, this is our first time in this situation. Bear has been a challenge to regulate, he is typically in the 300’s. It looks like the insulin is finally starting to kick in. He was 99 at +6, first time that low. At +8 he was 164 At pmps he is 172. He has been getting 2.25 unit LANTUS for the last 6 cycles. Just raised to 2.5 this am. I am stalling right now, have about 15 more mins, don’t know what to do. Give him only 1 unit??
 
Last edited:
Sorry no one got to you earlier. Next time, try using the "?" icon with the subject line to draw attention, or put in something like "need help with shooting"

Good to see that you stalled a bit, what number did you get next? How late can you stall and still be Ok shooting later tomorrow morning?
 
Sorry no one got to you earlier. Next time, try using the "?" icon with the subject line to draw attention, or put in something like "need help with shooting"

Good to see that you stalled a bit, what number did you get next? How late can you stall and still be Ok shooting later tomorrow morning?
Hi Wendy, so he was 99 at +6 (first time ever that low) he had 1/2 can of fancy feast after the reading. Then at +8 he was 164, at +12 pmps he was 172. At this point I posted but didn’t get replies so I checked again at +12.5 and he was 144! So I skipped the dose and fed him dinner 1 & 1/2 can fancy feast. I will check again at +2. I think the 2.25 finally kicked in but am I right to think I shouldn’t give him that dose in the am?
 
If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you should have held the 2.25 units dose for 7 days and you only did half that length time. I'm basing that on your spreadsheet that says you shot 2.5 units this morning? So I'd go back to 2.25 tomorrow morning. A reduction is earned when they go under 90, and he didn't. The goal in SLGS is to get to a dose where you see nadirs in the 90 to 149 range.

Here is the link to your last post here, which we ask that you add for connectivity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-bear-stuck-in-the-300s-time-to-increase.246819/
 
If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you should have held the 2.25 units dose for 7 days and you only did half that length time. I'm basing that on your spreadsheet that says you shot 2.5 units this morning? So I'd go back to 2.25 tomorrow morning. A reduction is earned when they go under 90, and he didn't. The goal in SLGS is to get to a dose where you see nadirs in the 90 to 149 range.

Here is the link to your last post here, which we ask that you add for connectivity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-bear-stuck-in-the-300s-time-to-increase.246819/
Was it correct to skip the dose tonight?
 
Was it correct to skip the dose tonight?
That was one option. And one that we suggest for new people if the preshot is under 200, though you aren't brand new now. Eventually, with data and experience, you can lower your "no shoot" number, especially if it's a cycle where you can monitor closely. Stalling as you did, is another option. A partial dose is a third option, and maybe something you can try next time.
 
Back
Top