SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

DiabeticMom

Member Since 2012
Hi,
Please look at my SS and let me know what you think. Increase insulin?

A very special, special thanks to Sue & Oliver for help with my SS.

Barb & Chong
 
Hiya Barb, and pets for Chong. cat_pet_icon

No words of wisdom, though. Not really sure what to do. Is Chong still having issues? I know that can mess with the BGs.
 
Is she still sore on her hindquarters? Can you get that checked out? Does it seem like her pancreatitis has flared up again? As Teresa said, both could change the numbers upward. I liked your numbers on 7/6, just a few days ago. Those were very close to regulated numbers - 200s at preshot and 100s at nadir.

Let me see if Kim is around (kse). She dealt with pancreatitis a long time and may have some words of wisdom. Here is your previous thread for people to read.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=74560
 
I posted in your other thread. But things just seemed to go bad suddenly. The 1u days were looking good, then they weren't. There has to be an underlying cause for change. If it is a flare-up of P-titis, that would do it. Does Chong seem dehydrated at all?

Carl
 
Her hindquarters don't seem to bother her at all anymore. I don't know what that was about.

I don't know what is going on with the BG either.

I don't know what is going on, what to do or how to do it!

I do know that I desperately need this vacation with my extended family and laughter. I don't know how to make it happen & keep Chong safe and relaxed. I'm freaked about traveling with her and these ups & downs are killing me. What do I do about floods? Can I take them througnh the airport? Can I handle this on my own? It's a 4 hour trip under the seat in a small case. I even thought about driving 2000 miles to the east coast.

I'm at my wits end. Sometimes I think she's dying before my eyes and a few hours later she seems fine. But the worst is the BG. 350 again tonight and I can't seem to get it low enough or regulated.
 
Barb,
I have a question. You've probably already answered it, and if so, I apologize in advance.
On your spreadsheet, on all the "U" boxes that are blank, like several nights in a row where you gave 1u at AMPS, but there is a balnk box at PMPS... were those "no shots"? Were you only shooting once a day?
Carl
 
Can you just take Chong and leave the "easy" one with a pet sitter? We pay $10 for our non diabetic - one visit a day to play, check the cat box and fill the automatic feeder.

I didn't fly with Oliver but know lots of people have. Lu gave you some great tips. You could get more ideas if you post on Health. Once you get there, it can be pretty doable. Crate when you won't be there, give lots of attention when you are. You don't worry about her care because you are giving her the best. Just be sure you have everything with you.

So glad she is feeling better. I wonder if she just got bruised.

I am wondering about your shots also. Twice a day, same amount?
 
Hi Sue,
I only have Chong now. The other one, the easy one who was also her sister, died last Oct. Her brother, who was owned by a friend of mine, died about 1-2 months ago. I'm telling you about her brother because I also wonder about their genetic life span.

Barb
 
Hi Barb,

I have been reading about Chong and wanted to offer any support or insight I can give you regarding Pancreatitis. Kitty and I dealt with it in both an Acute and Chronic form for over a year. It can make regualation and the entire sugar dance so much more complicated.

Do you think Chong is experiencing a flare up of Ptitis?

Kim
 
I want to share something I saw when I traveled 2 weeks ago.
I was at the airport in the security line waiting to go through the detector. The lady in front of me had a soft side carrier with her cat in it. Her friend had gone threw & was waiting on the other side. TSA made the owner take the cat out of the carrier. Put the carrier on the security belt. TSA wouldn't let her friend come over & get the cat so the owner could go through. They had to wait for the carrier to go threw detection, get the carrier have TSA put the carrier on the other side of the body scanner, put the cat in the carrier, then the owner went threw the body scanner. The cat was crying. It was so sacred. All while this was happening TSA motioned me to go ahead of them. When I passed her with her cat in her arms crying...I said poor little guy. She said I know he is so scared.
I thought no way in hell I would put Baxter through that. Baxter would have a heart attack.
Lots of people fly with their animals and the pets are just fine. It just depends on the cat.
You will figure out what is best. Most of all enjoy your trip!
 
Those TSA people sometimes have real god complexes........They made my 8 year old grandson empty out his Lego box. If you decide to fly, Barb, I would call DIA ahead of time and find out what their policies are. I have flown out of there a bunch and never seen them give cat or dog passengers a hard time.
 
Hi Carl,
I didn't keep up with the spreadsheet for a while and had to go back and fill it in. Almost always it was 1 unit. When she was low on occasion I would experiment with less than one or no shot. But that wasn't often.

I don't know what happened to make the numbers rise. At first I thought a p-titis flare but I think we are over that and #s haven't come down. The day the #s started to rise was the day I hired the pet sitter so I wondered if that and/or my stress had something to do with it.

Her back hip seems to be bothering her again. Or something back there is sensitive. Maybe arthritis that comes & goes?

Barb
 
Have you ever tried Adequan for arthritis pain? I never used it, I always used a small dose of bupe when needed for Kitty's arthritis flare ups, but many here have used Adequan with much success. It might be worth a try.
 
I'm at a loss. For some reason, overnight, Chong's response to 1u disappeared. She's had one good cycle on 2u, and now that doesn't seem to work either.

Is this vial of insulin fairly new?
I'm thinking a full blood panel would be a good idea. There have to be numbers from that which could explain what's going on. The hip thing could be arthritis, but the way it came on quickly still makes me think some kind of injury or trauma. I had a cat once who got his tail stuck in the door and it yanked the base of his tail out of joint. It got better eventually but it hurt for a week or more. I don't remember what the vet did to fix it (that brain cell died years ago), but I think they just sedated him and manipulated things back into place.
Adaquan is a good drug for arthritis. Bob gets Cosequin sprinkled on his food. I believe adaquan is usually a series of injections.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top