SS Review Request

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Hello, all. I've been following the threads on the board since Shadow's DX, but since he's been such an easy case (sugar wise), I've not felt the need to post very much. I would appreciate it if someone would look over his SS and let me know if we are on the right track. I would be ever so grateful! :-D
 
Hi,

Good job on getting the SS set up. And those numbers look brilliant. You really seem to have a 'feel' for this. Top job!

Am I right in thinking you're using Lantus? I'm not a Lantus user so those experienced in Lantus may have some specific suggestions for you (maybe even reducing the no-shoot number a smidge and the dosage also, perhaps, to even things out, and to maybe try to ease your boy into remission...?)

Eliz
 
Hello.
I always have to read any condo with kitties named Shadow. :cool:

It looks like your Shadow is doing quite well. He is definitely on the right track and may even have a good chance at remission.
His numbers look a lot like my own Shadow's chart.

It does look like he could benefit from a smaller dose. On the tight regulation lantus forum , we do microdosing....( amounts less than 1/4 unit) This thread about dosing with calipers
talks about smaller doses.
If you gave him a smaller amount , you could actually give insulin both am and pm and continue supporting his pancreas while getting
his numbers to flatten out.
I would recommend that you get at least one midcycle test.... randomly.... as lantus dose amount is determined by the lowest number in the cycle.... not the pre-shot number.
 
Nice numbers, I am jealous! :lol:

Could I make one suggestion? When testing at a +4.25 or something like that and you type in the time (which you should), manually go in and change the color of the box as it will not auto fill because there is more than just his number there. For example on 7/21 AMPS there are numbers in the +4 and +6. By manually changing the colors, you run less risk of someone skipping over those. I think a lot of people start out looking for the colors and then look at the specific numbers.

For the color blocks that have white lettering, I change both the fill color and the font color.
 
Thank you all for the great suggestions.

Rhiannon, I'll be reading up on the microdosing and will get some mid cycle tests in today. I don't think he's even approaching nadirs that could trigger a hypo, so I feel pretty confident about shooting a lower BG. If this AMPS is around 125, we will shoot. The strict Lantus protocol had me a little frightened, but I think that a few more mid cycle tests will give me enough data to make the leap. :)

I have changed the colors of two of the cells in the SS, but will go back and edit the remainder later this morning. Thanks, Skootersmom for that tip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top