squishy 6/17

Status
Not open for further replies.
had to do a skinny unit. i wont be home today so i i couldnt do a whole unit with his pmps at 267. i will try and come home at lunch to take a quick bg reading...
 
I don't blame you for decreasing slightly, I think that was a smart move. :thumbup I'm curious to see how it worked out. Were you able to get a test at lunchtime? You are doing so much better than I did in the beginning!
 
Woohoo, nice #s yesterday, eh? Do you leave food out when you aren't home? If you can do that (I found out here it's ok to leave canned food out for hours), or use a timed feeder, I find it helps ease the stress - if they might go a little low, they will naturally eat. I probably would have reduced the dose too, though yesterday's #s were perfect IMO. But still, good to play it safe and gather data when you see something unexpected like that. Looks like he wants the full 1u though - amazing how that one drop can make a difference. Sometimes with PZI it seems like they have a sweet spot with the dose, when their body just likes that amount and really utilizes it well. Not a scientific explanation :) just how I think of it sometimes from what I've seen.

Here's to more blues & greens soon! drinking24 PZI Ville is really rocking these days, yippee!!! ProZinc is earning it's keep!!!
 
no i dont leave food out for him during the day. if i did he would gorge himself full of food. i wish everyone could see him and hear him when i am getting his food ready. its like crack or something to him. haha. i will look into the timed feeder though. any suggestions on where i can find one? i was really expecting his number to be hight today when i came home from work to check him, but it wasnt as high as i thought i was pretty happy about that. but i do also agree his body wants one unit. i gave him a whole unit tonight, but i will also be here tonight. his bg is always higher at night i dont understand it, but i guess we will figure it out. is it possible for the pm shot be more units than the am shot? or do they both have to be the same amount??
 
I don't have an automatic feeder, but I found this thread on Health.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=17527
You might try doing a search for more threads/info on automatic feeders. If you can, it's good to have food available for him in case he starts to go low. I can't do that, I have other animals, including a piggie civvie kitty! Also, it's a good idea to be consistent with the amount of food and timing of feeding if possible. If that varies, it affects your BG #s and it's harder to get an accurate picture of how the insulin is working.

You don't *have* to do the same dose in the morning and at night, but I wouldn't recommend doing different doses while you are trying to get regulated. When you change doses with ProZinc, it can cause wacky #s until the dose settles. It's really not a good idea to vary the dose IMO. His numbers are good, his ps numbers are decreasing (if you look down the columns, AMPS and PMPS)...you are doing great, I wouldn't tinker too much! I would not try to adjust the dose based on ps #s, but keep an eye on his nadir. When you see a low nadir, that's your cue to lower the dose. I don't think you are far from needing to lower the dose. In fact, I would have stayed with the skinny 1.0u for the next several days once you lowered it and given it a chance to settle. Just my opinion, others may disagree.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top