Spreadsheet help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer & Splunk

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone!

I'm trying to import the spreadsheet I already have into the version everyone uses on this site. I have some questions!

1) Being Canadian, I use mmol/L. Do I need to convert everything to mg/dl for everyone here to know what I'm talking about? Or can I alter the SS to reflect mmol/L values?

2) What do AMPS and PMPS mean? I assume AM is morning and PM is afternoon, but what's the rest? I'm guessing this is the BGL pre-insulin... just wondering what the letters stand for.

3) Are +1, +2, etc. a reflection of hours? I see a lot of spreadsheets that have people testing through the day. I test pre-insulin administration only, unless I'm worried about him. I'll be doing a curve shortly, but I just switched from 0.5iu to 1iu, so have to wait for a week or two before I can do a curve.

Thanks for any help! :)

Jenn & Splunky-Monkey
 
Oh man... sorry for all the messages. So I can see in the calculations for the cells that the spreadsheet is supposed to be converting the values, but it's not working. So I'll do the conversions myself.
 
@Chris & China might be able to help get your SS straightened out. I think she's helped other members. Kind of odd it's not automatically converting for you. Our other SS guru is on vacation :)

2. Yes, AMPS / PMPS is morning / evening pre-shot BG number. Usually taken 15-30 minutes before shot time and having not eaten any food 2 hours prior.

3. Yes, reflection of hours after shot administered. So if your shot time is 06:00, then 07:00 is +1, 12:00 is +6 etc. We use these due to varying time zones of members on the forum :)
 
Ah, terrific, thanks. That's very helpful.


If you enter the number in mmol on the world tab it will automatically convert to US measure on the US tab. Just enter the reading you get on the world tab when you do your tests. You don't have to enter on the US since the formula will convert it to US for you. I use the mmol (world) since I am also in Canada.
 
Hiya, thanks for checking -- yes, I definitely have the right spreadsheet. I can see the calculation in the cells, it's just not working. No worries -- it's no trouble to do it myself.
Thanks! :)


Did you see my post above???


If you enter the number in mmol on the world tab it will automatically convert to US measure on the US tab. Just enter the reading you get on the world tab when you do your tests. You don't have to enter on the US since the formula will convert it to US for you. I use the mmol (world) since I am also in Canada.


Enter the reading you get in the appropriate box on the world tab and it automatically converts on the US tab/ Since you are using mmol you want to have one tab with numbers that "make sense" to you. Since I am also in Canada and use mmol, that is the tab that I "understand" and the US tab is good for the US members since it is in their "language"
 
Last edited:
Did you see my post above???





Enter the reading you get in the appropriate box on the world tab and it automatically converts on the US tab/ Since you are using mmol you want to have one tab with numbers that "make sense" to you. Since I am also in Canada and use mmol, that is the tab that I "understand" and the US tab is goof for the US members since it is in their "language"

Bahaha, I'm such an idiot. Thanks so much. I see the other tab now. Obviously I'm not a spreadsheet guru.
Appreciate your help & patience! :)
 
Any time you can test mid cycle it's helpful even if it's not a full curve. ProZinc usually peeks around 6-7 hours post shot, so that would be a helpful spot to check.
 
Thanks Janet -- that's really helpful. I don't want to torment the guy too much by testing all the time, but I do want enough information to make sound judgements about his dosing.
 
Hi Jennifer! You might find this helpful to learn a little about Prozinc
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...prozinc-pzi-insulin-for-diabetic-cats.164995/

And the protocol that most of us use:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.165103/

The nadir for ProZinc is usually considered to be 4-7 hours from shot time, with a mean of +6 and a range from +3 to +9 (according to the manufacturer). Every cat is a little different, so the best way to tell is to occasionally do a curve, and then on other days, get a variety of mid-cycle numbers. As Janet said, it doesn't matter much which hours, but if you aren't testing a lot, you generally want to aim for those hours in the middle if your schedule allows. So one day you can get a +4, another day a +7, etc. As you collect more data, it makes a clearer picture. You're doing a great job of getting the pre-shot numbers! If you post over in the prozinc forum, you'll find other people using your same insulin, and lots of information about all of this.
 
Thanks Janet -- that's really helpful. I don't want to torment the guy too much by testing all the time, but I do want enough information to make sound judgements about his dosing.
Is your cat difficult to test? My cat never seems to mind, even when I was testing a lot.
 
Is your cat difficult to test? My cat never seems to mind, even when I was testing a lot.
I wouldn't say difficult, exactly, but he doesn't like it much, poor guy.

I also worry about scarring up his ears, making it more difficult to get blood in the future.

What did you use for lancets? I've been using 25ga needles on the advice of my vet, but wonder if there's something better.
 
I wouldn't say difficult, exactly, but he doesn't like it much, poor guy.

I also worry about scarring up his ears, making it more difficult to get blood in the future.

What did you use for lancets? I've been using 25ga needles on the advice of my vet, but wonder if there's something better.
I've always used 28 gauge. We never had a problem with scaring. Aim for the sweet spot and you can apply a little neosporin with pain relief after a test of there's a cab or bruise.
IMG_3612.JPG
 
Also, firmly hold the poked spot for as long as you can, up to like 15 seconds. This helps further reduce bruising and promote healing :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top