BirdAndTobikat
Member Since 2020
Starting in on our spreadsheet but I'm still learning the terminology... what is SLGS or TR?
SLGS = Start Low, Go Slow
TR = Tight Regulation
Both refer to dosing methods. SLGS is used for all insulins, TR is specific to the depot insulins (Lantus/Levemir). Here is information on both:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Is your cat Oktober still eating the Friskies Shreds type food? That is more of a medium carb food, running in the 12-18% carb range, better for your hypo kit to bring low BG (blood glucose) readings back up. I see you live in the US. Than this food chart will give you other options for food that are lower carb. Food chart for US. Look for foods that are 10% carbs or less. Plus any other requirements your cat may have.
Friskies makes a chunkier style food, the Flaked varieties. If I remember correctly, that one is lower carb too, but only certain ones. You might look for the Friskies Flaked Tuna or the Friskies Flaked Tuna and Egg.
Please start home testing before you switch to a lower carb food, as doing that food change can dramatically drop the BG readings (100 basis points or more) and we don't want your cat to have a hypoglycemic episode. You do have your hypo kit ready don't you???
Is your cat Oktober still eating the Friskies Shreds type food?

