Spooky's AMPS 63 This Morning; What to Do Tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
For the first time since we've been keeping track, Spooky was below 100; 63 to be exact.

My husband and I were both happy to see such a low number. His appetite was fine. :smile:

I told Hubbs I was going to hold Spooky's insulin. Just to make sure though, I called the vet. Well, *that* was fun. I actually talked to a vet tech, which was fine. When I explained the situation, and said I just wanted to double check that holding his insulin was the right thing to do, she asked about the glucometer- if it was a 'pet' glucometer. When I told her no, she said we really needed one. I answered back with I am using one that multiple people with diabetic cats use and they have not had a problem (Relion Micro). She then said "Well, we have found that people glucometers can be off by 15-20 points." I answered with "Okay- so he would still be in the normal range. ohmygod_smile Do I hold the insulin?" She said yes, and advised us to test again tonight.

I forgot to ask the tech, so am asking here- if (and it's just a slight "if" I would think) his numbers are say, in the 100's- would I still give him insulin tonight? Or perhaps half a dose? Or hold off again?
Or should I wait until we actually do the test tonight, post his number if it's in the 100's and ask then?

Thanks in advance!

Oops! Forgot to say he is on 1u of Lantus, twice a day.
 
I can't open your spreadsheet. Could you check to see if you have the access permission set to "anyone with the link?"

On the Lantus Tight Regulation board we generally recommend that if you are new to using insulin, that you do not shoot if your pre-shot test is below 150. On Health, the recommendation is to hold the shot if your test is below 200. You may find this post helpful with regard to your options when you have a low pre-shot number.

If you didn't shoot this morning, there's a good chance you'll see a higher number at PM shot time. I'd suggest that you post either here in Health or on the Lantus board at least 30 - 60 min. before your shot time. That will give people a chance to provide some input. It will help though, if you can get your spreadsheet accessible. It really helps to be able to see how Spooky has been responding to Lantus.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I can't open your spreadsheet. Could you check to see if you have the access permission set to "anyone with the link?"

On the Lantus Tight Regulation board we generally recommend that if you are new to using insulin, that you do not shoot if your pre-shot test is below 150. On Health, the recommendation is to hold the shot if your test is below 200. You may find this post helpful with regard to your options when you have a low pre-shot number.

If you didn't shoot this morning, there's a good chance you'll see a higher number at PM shot time. I'd suggest that you post either here in Health or on the Lantus board at least 30 - 60 min. before your shot time. That will give people a chance to provide some input. It will help though, if you can get your spreadsheet accessible. It really helps to be able to see how Spooky has been responding to Lantus.
Thank you Sienne. I did not even realize I had to set privacy on the SS. I just assumed everyone could see it. ohmygod_smile

I will read the links you've provided. Thanks again for your help. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top