Spike AMPS 279; PMPS 204 Reduced dosage by half

DevilPup

Member Since 2018
I was unable to test him during the day; today was my day to go into work. (one day a week). I really wonder how he did today....this scares me that he may have gone pretty low..... This PMPS was low for him, so I reduced his 1.5U by half to .75U. I will test him +3 and +6 to make sure he doesn't go too low. He is also troubled with his congested sinuses today (chronic sinusitis). He was in the vaporizer/steam box this morning for an hour. Since I have never reduced his dose before, it is usual to go back to normal dose by next cycle, or it depends on the PS test (or his low point, say around +6)? Or we may have a sleepless night tonight, testing every 3 hrs.... I was just posting that his increased dose was not registering and now, a few days later, I'm thinking "maybe?"
 
I hope some of the experts will reply to your questions soon - I'm tagging a few at the end of this post. If it were me, I would not have changed his dose since his nadirs are all comfortably high enough...but that's just me. Lantus is a depot drug so unless you're experiencing low blue numbers or high greens and can't stick around to test - you may want to keep the dose the same when you are at home - yes, it might mean testing a few more times during the night - sooner or later if you're consistent with the dose or increasing you'll see those numbers begin to improve.
@Bobbie And Bubba, @Marje and Gracie, @Jill & Alex (GA) -anyone able to help Spike with some advice?
 
Hi there, I would have held the same dose tonight. A reduction was not in order as 204 is a nice safe number. Chances are if he had gone lower today, the PMPS would have been a higher number due to a bounce starting. Unless he goes a lot lower tonight, I would take the dose back to 1.5 tomorrow.

Since today was the 7th cycle with the 1.5 dose, you should still monitor tonight even though you reduced as the higher depot could still be at play. The more data you are able to get , the better. A great test to get is the +2 . If that number is the same as the pre shot number or lower, it could be an active cycle and more test could be required.

I hope your boy starts to feel better with the congestion.
 
Hi there, I would have held the same dose tonight. A reduction was not in order as 204 is a nice safe number. Chances are if he had gone lower today, the PMPS would have been a higher number due to a bounce starting. Unless he goes a lot lower tonight, I would take the dose back to 1.5 tomorrow.

Since today was the 7th cycle with the 1.5 dose, you should still monitor tonight even though you reduced as the higher depot could still be at play. The more data you are able to get , the better. A great test to get is the +2 . If that number is the same as the pre shot number or lower, it could be an active cycle and more test could be required.

I hope your boy starts to feel better with the congestion.

Hi, and thanks for replying. We tested him at +2. He was higher at 261. We will do another test at +5. I may have misunderstood the sticky for SLGS, about the PS BGs when just getting started. We are about 6 weeks into this journey and I guess I think we are still "just starting." His BGs have been regularly increasing, so I was surprised by his 204 PMPS tonight. But that is where we want to go....lower. I will get the hang. Just afraid Spike will go too low. This illness scares me. It's such a delicate balancing act on what to do, when....:confused:

His congestion seemed a little better after his car ride. I think the adrenaline helps clear him out a bit. Thank you!
 
I hope some of the experts will reply to your questions soon - I'm tagging a few at the end of this post. If it were me, I would not have changed his dose since his nadirs are all comfortably high enough...but that's just me. Lantus is a depot drug so unless you're experiencing low blue numbers or high greens and can't stick around to test - you may want to keep the dose the same when you are at home - yes, it might mean testing a few more times during the night - sooner or later if you're consistent with the dose or increasing you'll see those numbers begin to improve.
@Bobbie And Bubba, @Marje and Gracie, @Jill & Alex (GA) -anyone able to help Spike with some advice?

Thanks Sue and Luci. I appreciate your input and putting it out there to the experts! :)
 
But that is where we want to go....lower.

Exactly!....One thing that's really important to remember.....As long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of his blood glucose!! If it starts to drop too low, a little HC food will bump it up. That's why we are so adamant about home testing.

I don't remember anybody here that ever ended up in the ER if they were home testing and had the supplies they needed (except for a couple of times when huge mistakes were made with dosing....like 20 units instead of 2)
 
Thanks for the tag @Sue and Luci. I agree with everything Bobbie posted :)

You might see numbers a little higher tomorrow due to the reduced dose tonight but he will recover.

He’s very adorable!

Awwe, thank you. I think he is adorable too. He's just a big farmboy, chooch. His nickname is Choo Choo.:kiss:

Actually, he has recovered 'somewhat.' His AMPS was 295 and +2 was 223. We shot his regular dose 1.5U. I will test him again as soon as he wakes up. It was raining today, so I made him stay in. He is in his closet sleeping now, so I won't disturb him. But I'll bet he is in the 100s.....That would be awesome!

Thank you!
 
Back
Top