Sparky 8/18 PMPS 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aly & Sparky

Member Since 2010
We are just off a 6 year honeymoon. We used BCP PZI in the past, so bear with me here on the Lantus.

Tuesday night he was 330, today we received Lantus for him. His PMPS is 274. I shot .5 units, and I plan to test around +3 before I go to sleep.

I'm optimistic since his numbers are relatively low (when he was first diagnosed he was way into the 400s.

Since I'm not a newbie but I'm certainly new to Lantus, I'd like to post here and please let me know if you have any pointers or if I sound like I'm taking a wrong turn anywhere. Thanks :smile:



Sparky: Age 14; Diagnosed in 2004 in DKA and was on BCP PZI. Went on Honeymoon in 2005 after switching to a very low carb diet. Back off honeymoon August 2011. Started Lantus 8/18/11.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Aly.

I'm sorry that Sparky fell off the remission wagon. Hopefully, we can help you get him back there.

Please take some time to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There is a huge amount of information in those notes. In fact, it's a bit overwhelming at first. You may want to take a look at the Tight Regulation and the New to Lantus stickies as a place to get started.

Using Lantus will be different than what you were used to. Dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot so getting spot checks is important.

Please let us know how we can help!
 
Thanks for the tips :) I;ll spend the next day or two pouring through all the info I can. In the meantime, it's my understanding Lantus doesn't really have a definative peak.. any recommended times to check? I can't do a curve until Sunday.
 
Aly & Sparky said:
In the meantime, it's my understanding Lantus doesn't really have a definative peak.. any recommended times to check?
Well, that is and isn't true. Ideally, the Lantus curve is "flat." However, that's not always the case, especially before your cat is regulated. If you look at Mr. Howell's SS, his numbers are pretty consistently below 100. He's in the process of going into remission. Until that time, numbers can be variable. If you look in the "New to the Group" sticky, there's a description of an ideal Lantus curve. Generally, Lantus peaks somewhere mid-cycle (between 4 - 8 hours from shot time).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top