Care4Sparks
Member
It was a rough day here.
Sparks was constipated and straining. He puked up his midnight snack and his 3am. Sometime between 4-7am he pooped two small marbles in the hallway and downstairs bath.
We let him rest in during the am, skipping his usual dose until the family visitors all left.
Around 12:30pm he measured BG 258, and was eating leftovers from the other cat's plate.
He was given another 1/2 can FF, a spoon of pumpkin and 1/2 B12, along with 2.75u insulin.
Poor guy puked about 20 mins later. I was worried and monitored him visually/audio today (was alone and unable to get a BG reading).
Now, he's gotten a 1/4can food down at 3:30, 5pm and 7pm, along w/1.5oz Lactulose and extra water each time. I will be testing him again soon, now that Eric is back and can help. I'm leaning on the side of skipping his dose tonight and really hoping for more poop and non-vomiting...
I guess part of the constipation and pooping outside the box is due to neuropathy and partly diabetes, but he never had this when he was on a dry diet. Last time this happened and we had to bring him to the vet for an ennema series they monitored his BG (he'd gotten 4u insulin and then puked), but there it never dipped below 350.
Anyways, a rough day but all-in-all he seems ok. I got him to swing at a toy which he hadn't been interested in doing since pre-diagnosis.
I should experiment with the 'burrito' technique and see if I can get readings on my own. It makes me extra nervous to not be able to test him, which makes him nervous.
Sparks was constipated and straining. He puked up his midnight snack and his 3am. Sometime between 4-7am he pooped two small marbles in the hallway and downstairs bath.
We let him rest in during the am, skipping his usual dose until the family visitors all left.
Around 12:30pm he measured BG 258, and was eating leftovers from the other cat's plate.
He was given another 1/2 can FF, a spoon of pumpkin and 1/2 B12, along with 2.75u insulin.
Poor guy puked about 20 mins later. I was worried and monitored him visually/audio today (was alone and unable to get a BG reading).
Now, he's gotten a 1/4can food down at 3:30, 5pm and 7pm, along w/1.5oz Lactulose and extra water each time. I will be testing him again soon, now that Eric is back and can help. I'm leaning on the side of skipping his dose tonight and really hoping for more poop and non-vomiting...
I guess part of the constipation and pooping outside the box is due to neuropathy and partly diabetes, but he never had this when he was on a dry diet. Last time this happened and we had to bring him to the vet for an ennema series they monitored his BG (he'd gotten 4u insulin and then puked), but there it never dipped below 350.
Anyways, a rough day but all-in-all he seems ok. I got him to swing at a toy which he hadn't been interested in doing since pre-diagnosis.
I should experiment with the 'burrito' technique and see if I can get readings on my own. It makes me extra nervous to not be able to test him, which makes him nervous.