Sparks Update 1/11/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Care4Sparks

Member Since 2011
Good evening!
Sparks is having a really good New Year! Most nights he is too low to shoot. Then again, I thought it was typically mornings/overnight that has greater risk for BG drops. So, any idea about what's going on? I feed him throughout the day (usually: dawn snack, breakfast, second breakfast, lunch, lunch2(sometimes), snack, tea time, dinner, midnight snack). I'm thinking about dropping his dose down to 0.5u because maybe the morning shot is too much and that's why we keep skipping the night and being high in the morning?
What do you think about this?
]

We had a great moment last night -- Sparks hopped up on to the Master Bed all by himself (which is HUGE - when he was first diagnosed I had to help him in/out of the litter box from neuropathy.We just ran out of Methyl-B12 today and I'm hoping one of the supplement stores will have a less sugary one. I like that it's a sublingual so super easy to crush in my fingers and sprinkle in, but it has fructose=sugar and ... maybe we can do better. Any good rec's for Methyl-B12?

Sparks had a rough December. He continued to have constipation/obstipation issues, and in addition to multiple visits for ennemas, he was hospitalized twice for sedated de-opstipation. We also gave him some glycerin in Nov/Dec trying to keep things moving. It's pretty much a given that he has a form of megacolon and needs to be on stool softener and "poop patrol" for the foreseeable future.

He's off the Lactulose and now on Miralax generic. I put 1/8t-1/4 in his food most times I feed (which is 1/4-1/2c FF about 8-9 times a day). Based on recent 'progress' ;-) I think we can reduce.
He's also finally agreed to take the Cisapride as prescribed. After the first de-obstipation he'd refuse food I thought had been very stealthfully covering the meds. Maybe it tastes better w/the powder stool softener vs Lactulose? Anyone else here have their cat on Cisapride?

I bought a bunch of the "hairball remedy" that is supposedly tasty Catnip flavor. He totally despises it. His 'sister' will lick it sometimes, and she does need it more than him. But I might be in that forum to offload some supply. Our natural catnip supply is currently dormant. Santa Cruz museum of art & history had a really cool 'seed bank' exhibit and I got some cat grass to try this Spring. If all goes well, the cats will enjoy both nip and grass this year and I will have some seeds to donate back to the bank.

We've finally figured out the FF Classic flavors we like and gotten on Amazon subscription home delivery. Does FD.com still get their referral bonus from long-term buyers? I am 99.9% certain I signed through the link here to try.

Our shift to the Breeze system has been a "breeze" and we haven't had any clumping litter problems since! So glad we gave that up, and wishing I'd known long ago.

Sparks decided with his switch to wet food that he won't drink water. I mix some in his food most times. Sometimes he'll take it from a can of fish or crab. We've resorted to Subcutaneous (sub-Q) fluid therapy ~1/week, 1-1.5u. It seems to really help him out a lot, and it has extra electrolytes and vitamins. But why won't he drink?
Do you see strange #s after Sub-Q fluids? For how long and to what extent?

I think that's about it.

Thanks and best wishes!
 
Good to hear from you. It sounds like Sparks is doing well. Yes, I would lower the dose to .5 and see if you can dose twice daily. Right now you are in a pattern of higher amps because he has been 24 hours since the last shot. Better 2 shootable numbers a day.
 
Glad Sparks is doing better! I can't answer any of your questions, though (no relevant experience) except I agree with Sue to try reducing so you can shoot 2x/day. Good luck!
 
Thanks for your comments. I gave only .5u this morning but tonight he was only 112! So, no dose tonight, but we'll keep with .5 and see what happens...
 
Wow! Sparks is doing great! Good on ya both for the great numbers.
Fingers and pink kitty toes crossed for more ahead!
cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top