Sonny above 500 all day...

Status
Not open for further replies.

SonnyB

Member
I have tried to contact our vet and he's not home...Sonny has been crazy high all day, and did not really respond to his insulin.
7am - 557, gave 5U, fed canned
8am - 524
noon - 526
1pm - 551
4pm - 600+ (meter stops at 600+ and warns to get help)
4pm - gave 5U (3 hours early) and fed canned chicken with no carbs

Hoping our vet gets in soon. He's on Humulin N, but we do have access to Humalog and metformin from nearby family members if the vet says they could help. He isn't acting as good as yesterday. He is eating, but is also drinking a lot. Can't seem to really relax.
 
Sonny may have experienced a "fur shot". Grayson has too - probably on a number of occasions, in fact. Hopefully you''ll see a drop from the pmps.

Make sure when you give his shot to wet the injection site with alcohol (w/ a cotton ball or a wipe). Keeps the fur padded down and exposes the skin a little more. I've also found that Gray's shots seem to "take" better when I make a very small "tent" with his skin when injecting. He's short-haired, but I think I've probably shot into AND OUT OF the skin - and of course there's no way to know for certain.

Sounds like you did the right thing - watch him, check him regularly and when you gave the next shot, you were certainly on the "rising" side of nadir. I'm sure you'll hear from someone soon with a more experienced response.

Good luck with him!

Lu-Ann
 
How long has Sonny been on insulin?
How did he get to 5 units because that is really high especially for humilin...
Is it possible that he is getting too mcuh?
do you have numbers from previous days?
 
He's probably in rebound from getting too much insulin. That dose is far too high for the 1st week of treatment, which several people here have already told you. Your vet is going about this in the wrong way and his course of action is not going to help your cat.

I would suggest that you spend the afternoon doing a little reading and learn a better method of treating feline diabetes.

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/faq.html

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html
 
Thanks. We don't think he responded to the AM shot. I know it went under the skin, because there was no wetness and I couldn't smell the insulin, which I definitely can if any drips. I gave it the same way I used to give our CRF kitties their subQ's, but I don't know the mechanics of how it gets absorbed. The needles are a lot shorter, though, so it would be closer to the skin surface.

We're going to test in 15 minutes or so, which is an hour after the last 5 units. If there's no drop, I'll try again to find our vet.

He's only been on insulin since Friday. This is his first day entirely at home. Our vet says he needs the 5 units right now. He started at 559 on Thursday, then after the Friday morning shot (at the vet's) he was 300 (+1) and 79 (+9) with no second shot given and he came home. Saturday AM he went back, was 490, got 5 units, was 430 after an hour, 280 (+5), 199 (+9) and 344 (+12). I was hesitant to give 5U and go to bed, so I gave 2.5U last night, and he was 237 (+4). This morning I gave the 5U and saw no response, so at the 600+ (+9) reading, I gave 5U, three hours earlier than planned.

We'll test shortly and see if he's coming down. He's had very odd behavior so if we can't get it down and can't contact our vet, we'll probably need to go to the ER.

To those of you who insist he's absolutely too high and that vets are idiots, please don't bother responding. You don't know our vet or our cat.
 
Whew! An hour after the shot, he's down to 460. Hitting the water again, but responding. For some reason, that AM shot must not have taken. I didn't feel anything wet on his fur like I missed or anything, but who knows. We're just so relieved that he's dropping!
 
Glad to hear it! Breathe!!!

My boy's on the "high wire" today as well... and waiting patiently for one more test in 20 minutes, then the promised dinner!!! Okay, so maybe not so patinn bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb patiently!!! :lol: [G is now confined by my arm... 1 handed typing!]

I watch the needle, am sure it's in, and shoot... sometimes it appears it takes - others not so much. Sometimes there's just no rhyme or reason. Some things just take time to learn and do.

I'm sure this is a very stressful time for you. I felt like I was gonna snap every time I couldn't get G's ear to bleed... which was pretty much EVERY time the first 3 weeks or so. I was sleep-deprived and had difficulty focussing... The knowledgeable (sp?) people on the board have an amazing level of collective experience and can be a great help if you'll let them.

Good luck w/ Sonny! Hopefully his numbers will do well this cycle.

Lu-Ann
 
Lu-Ann,

Thank you. You're making me feel a lot better. Right now Sonny has his face in a can of FF...our other two are not amused :-) He misses his dry, but I pulled it up for now. Once we see some normal levels, we'll let him have a bit for a treat if he insists. Our other two are not amused at the empty hallway where we feed the crunchers. They'll get over it.

I appreciate what others are saying, I really do. But to be told that I'm treating him wrong, my vet doesn't know what he's doing...nobody has a right to say that about anyone else unless they are truly aware of the whole situation, the particular animal, the person and the vet. I've already been told I'm wrong for even letting the vet treat with insulin, then I'm using the wrong insulin, I'm wrong for allowing the vet to do testing, everybody here seems to think they are the only "right" ones. It's frustrating, and makes me consider just leaving altogether. (You haven't been like that, not at all! And there have been others who have been supportive). Our vet is less than happy about having so few options for insulins, and he hates that the better ones are in the $100 range. He agrees that starting with the least expensive and most available is the proper thing to do.

Going to go see what my eating machine is up to. At least he's not one of the cats who experience appetite loss. He used to be a big guy, 16 lbs...between this and the hyperthyroid, he's down to 9.5, but now that we know about both (we were just treating for hyper-T but he kept losing) hopefully he'll bulk back up. I'd like to see him back around 12 lbs.
 
BTW..I love Grayson's name! I had a Grayson years ago. My first cat when I moved out on my own. He was only with me for 3 years because he had feline leukemia (I knew it when I adopted him). He was such a special guy.
 
I agree with those who suggested it's a rebound from a high dose of insulin. These "bounces" happen to lots of cats, especially when they first start insulin, and it is likely made worse by a high dose of insulin (5U IS a lot of insulin for a cat without an underlying medical condition, especially when it's based on numbers gotten in the vet's office, as stress often affects BG. It may be necessary, but it also may not.)

I didn't see where anyone has explained this theory, but basically, it works like this: When a cat becomes diabetic, his body gets used to the elevated BG numbers. That's not a good thing, of course, but it happens. Then, when we introduce insulin and the BG drops (and it doesn't have to drop low or even into the normal range, just lower than the cat has been), the cat's liver reacts with a "Hey! Red Alert! This isn't normal!" and dumps glucagon into the blood in an effort to compensate for what it sees as low numbers, which sends the number back up. These can take up to 72 hours to clear a cat's system and result in a high, flat BG curve in the meantime. So it may not be that Sonny's insulin "didn't take", but that he is rebounding from the 200's he saw.

Nobody is saying that vets are idiots, but many are suggesting that your vet simply may not be up to date on current protocols regarding feline diabetes. The treatment he has prescribed for Sonny was the standard several years ago, it simply isn't now. Vets generally receive very little specific training on diabetes in vet school, just an overview, and many aren't as up-to-date in current treatment as they might be. Not necessarily blaming vets, because if they spent time researching the latest and greatest on every disease they deal with, they would never sleep! Add to that that many nutrition seminars are sponsored by pet food companies who would like nothing more than for vets to push their products, and you can wind up a bit behind the 8-ball.

Just one example of something you may want to discuss with your vet is a newer protocol such as the Roomp/Rand protocol for Lantus or Levemir insulin, which has up to an 84% remission rate in cats if they start on it early. That's in contrast to something like 30% or less on older treatments. There are also newer protocols for PZI and Prozinc, which I don't use, so can't share, but perhaps someone can. If you want to continue on the course of treatment you are using, that's fine, and people here will continue to help and support you you, but the majority use newer protocols and better-suited insulins, and so may not feel comfortable advising you on something they aren't as familiar or comfortable with.

Here's a link to the Roomp/Rand guidelines:http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf
 
I know nothing about Humulin N usage for cats. I do use it for my diabetic dog. But, 5 units is A LOT of insulin for a starting dose. I hope you will get some additional feedback, but I would have to reduce the dose if it was my cat.
 
Grayson LOVED his crunchies... actually wasn't too fond of canned food after nearly 7 years on dry... but he, too, is now officially a convert. I have to hold him off when I'm putting the food in the bowl! Especially the seafood flavor.

The rest of the tribe gets fed in the hallway as well... and since they are used to free-feeding, and Grayson is being very stealthy now, slipping through the door, there are now definitive feeding times. Once everyone appears to have finished, send in the dogs for the crumbs and Grayson can leave the kitchen/diningroom. But for a while there, he was catching the crumbs, and it was reflected in his numbers (or so it appeared).

Now my guys aren't too accustomed to treats very often, but Kim suggested the freeze dried chicken (dog treat in a package available at Petsmart). Kinda pricey compared to others, but none of the carbs or anything other than 100% chicken. And Grayson is RABID to get them!!! A nice treat after being poked 5,000 times, right? Silly me, I gave the dogs one each time he got one... and when I came home the other day, the 1/2 package that was in a ziplock container... was on the floor empty in the diningroom... and 2 dogs and Grayson were laying there rubbing their tummies and looking VERY HAPPY!!! ;-)

So, don't just address his food - keep the treats in mind as well. The seem like they would be nothing, but they might be the thing that bumps up his numbers.

Good luck! And keep us tuned in to his progress.

Lu-Ann
 
Sonnyb, please breathe...everything is going to be ok. Promise!
First off please don't entertain the idea of leave FDMB. This is truly the best place to be to help your cat.
Everyone here speaks their mind...there really isn't any use in sugar coating anything. Really what good what that do?
We are all here to help each other. When we give advice please don't take it the wrong way as if everything you do is wrong or your vet is doing wrong.

Like I have explained in your past post everyone here is speaking from experience. So imagine hunderds of people just like you being right where you are today giving advice about situtations they have been through. Now that is powerful! This what makes this board so special & full of knowledge.

Right now your best weapon for FD is knowledge. Read anything & everything you can get your hands on & your eyes on. Also, ask questions.

I am not going to lie...FD is a emotional roller coaster. Take a look at Baxters picture look at those big blue eyes. When he was DX I was a emotional wreck for about a month. I thought how could this be happening to us? I thought I was going to kill him. I probably would have if I would have listened to everything my vet said.

The excessive eating & drinking isn't going to stop over night. The diabetes didn't develop over night. It's going to take time. Your cat will have good & bad days. Insulin is not the cure all.

I will suggest again please don't give him 5 units. If you are starting to feed low carb you don't have enough data to what his body or pancreas will do. His pancreas could kick in....BAM he has 5 units in his system you will be in a hypo state. Your vet could be not be able like tonight. It could kill your cat! Please take the insulin slow. I really would hate to log on & see a 911 by one of you post. It is a very stressful & nerve wrecking situtation to be in.

Jenn & Baxter
 
SonnyB said:
He used to be a big guy, 16 lbs...between this and the hyperthyroid, he's down to 9.5, but now that we know about both (we were just treating for hyper-T but he kept losing) hopefully he'll bulk back up. I'd like to see him back around 12 lbs.

Mmm. He's a gorgeous orange cat. My boy Akbah was big, large rather than fat, though with the diabetes he got really skinny. He was on Humulin, like yours. Now Akbah got to 5.7kg, which is I think about 12lb. He was on 3U of Humulin, 2 times a day. There are other factors which affect dose, but once I got Akbah off dry food, 3 units was way too much insulin for him. I hope your numbers settle down, its scary as hell till that sorts out. Big pats to that beautiful yeller puss.
 
Thank you. Your little guy has a face like my sweet angel, Worf. He was just under 19 when he left us. Sonny, though now thin, is, well...was, "big" rather than fat. Not that he wasn't a bit overweight, but very solid. He's underweight now for his build, but looks like the typical old cat with the wasting near the rump, etc.

Come to think of it, I don't believe I've ever seen a "small" orange tabby! I'm sure they're out there, but all of our orange guys have been on the bigger side.

I'm thinking we didn't get the shot in properly yesterday and I must have not noticed the insulin on the fur or something. He responded great to his shot last night, and my husband gave him his morning one 2.5 hours ago, and he's now just under 300. down from 520, purring and curled up on the bed next to our little Himalayan.
 
Ditto on the the "rebound" responses. Sonny is likely experiencing Somogyi effect from too much insulin. This causes the high numbers that can linger for several days. Regardless of what you might think, Sonny needs less insulin rather than more! This can be a potentially fatal situation as, if this is indeed a rebound situation which I believe it is, Sonny is experiencing these high stagnant numbers that orginated from and are responding to a too low of BG number. Too low of a BG number even for a second can have disasterous results!

Judy & Jake
 
If you're shooting 5u of N and removing the dry food that is a recipe for a dangerous hypoglycemic episode--N is very harsh in cats with steep drops and huge climbs. 5u is way too high a dose. Please do NOT change the diet until you lower that dose to 1u. A dose that high can be deadly, especially once the dry food is removed. Most cats on a low carb canned diet do not need much more than 1u of insulin.

I understand that you trust your vet, but the combination of removing the dry food and that extremely high dose of N could kill your cat. The fact that he was at 89 9 hours after the dose of N at the vet is already an indication that 5u is an overdose-N does not usually last more than 4-6 hours, which means he had to drop pretty low early in the cycle to be at 89 still at 9 hours. A dose of insulin that is too high will keep your cat's numbers just as high as too low a dose due to rebound, as others have mentioned. That's why it's very important that you start out at a low dose, hold it for a bit and then slowly raise it, in .25u-.5u increments.

Again, I would urge you to do some reading and see about changing your treatment course asap. I provided some documents for you in your other thread that would be very useful for you and your vet: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=63300, as well as a link to the Diabetes in cats wikipedia pageto get you started.
 
Good stuff that Sonny decided to come down.

If you have time, you might consider setting up a spreadsheet so all your data is in one place for people to see here and advise if you like. Some instructions: setting up a spreadsheet

And please don't get discouraged if people are giving advice that is counter to your vet, everyone wants the best for Sonny. Take the free advice under consideration, read all you have the sanity and time to, discuss different options with your vet (who does sound like he's nice to work with), and base your treatment decisions on what makes the most sense to your situation. If you are most comfortable following your vets treatment to the letter, that's cool and up to you, but try to keep an open mind that your vet might not be up to date on current treatment protocols and hopefully everyone will respect whatever decisions you make either way. This can be stressful enough as it is and no one wants to add to your pressure, everyone has the same goals here:)

SonnyB said:
Our vet is less than happy about having so few options for insulins, and he hates that the better ones are in the $100 range. He agrees that starting with the least expensive and most available is the proper thing to do.

I know you've mentioned the Humulin N as being the best choice for you financially at the moment, but if you ever decide to do a switch you might want to look into ordering from a Canadian online pharmacy. I understand some folks in the States go that route to save some cash. We're the land of cheap insulin. We pay for it in the other supplies though, test strips and syringes cost a little more up here (specifically we don't have walmart's relion branded stuff). You might find this thread useful if the time to switch ever comes: Insulin from Canadian pharmacies

Take care:)
 
If cost is the only thing holding you back with switching insulins right now, Lantus and Levemir are much cheaper when ordered from a Canadian pharmacy, as Brian mentioned. Here's a list of Canadian pharmacies you can order from: https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=1FCnrPxpYD02Gp5hWtEIbhLXm0VOyaZlAT_qeCjlx-Js&pli=1

You can also write Diabetic cats in need and see if they can help get you set up with insulin to get you started.

The reason why seeing how it goes with the less expensive insulin is not a good plan is because the longer you wait to start your cat on a better insulin, the less likely are your chances of remission. And I speak from personal experience when I say it is far, far cheaper and easier to take care of a diet controlled cat in remission than it is one who is insulin dependent. What you think you are saving on insulin now will end up costing you in the future, which is why many of us are being very adamant about you switching now. Everyone here wants to see all the kitties that come to these boards healthy again.
 
Julia is absolutely right. I for one, think that Lantus (glargine) insulin (a human insulin) is the best. After 9 months of insulin therapy, Jake has been in remission (diet controlled) for nearly 2 years. He is also nearly 20 years old.

Judy & Jake
 
My cat was on humulin and now he is off the juice, maybe you can have the same luck. I have looked over lots of the posts here and in the other threads, and the thing I am glad to see is that you are hometesting. Keep a close eye on the BG of your orange friend. I found with Humulin, I had big drops and then big climbs again, have a look at my spreadsheet (in signature). You'll see how he started with red or black numbers, dove down sometimes into green, and then came back up to red again.
The swings slowed as I reduced the dose, which I did because I realised that he was getting dangerously low in the lowest points - without ever showing any visible symptoms of hypos. For example, look at 19 January, or 20 January. He went really low every day, twice a day between 19-24 January, when I was giving him 3U twice a day, and feeding him twice a day on wet low carb. I reduced the dose, and I also spread out his feeding so that he had a more or less steady supply of food (same amount, in small lots).

When there's a drop in about 200 or so, I read that is when the liver can kick in and send the BG high in an attempt to protect the system. So for example, look at 19 January, when Akbah started at 288, went down to 63, and then came back up to 424 before his next shot. Or 17 November, when he started at 444, got down to 115, and was back up at 482 the next morning. I wanted to try and smooth out those big swings. When I started reducing his dose, his numbers started to come down with me, for example, 20 Jan (AMPS 426; PMPS 367) 21 Jan (AMPS 174; PMPS 189); though after that it started climbing again. I think with Akbah, his response to food was really definitive, and I had to just keep reducing his dose till he stopped going below 60. His system basically dragged my dosages down to micro doses, and then I put him on more frequent feeds and it all evened out.

Your SonnyJim will probably be different, but I just want to say (1) it may be possible to regulate him even though he's on humulin; (2) keep a really close eye on his low numbers (and his ketones) for awhile till you get an idea of what is going on with him. This is probably useful if you ever do think about changing his dose:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html
I know with Akbah and I, it all happened way too fast for comfort.

Glad you have such a lovely sounding vet. Mine is lovely too, but he was away on holidays for a month when all this was happening with Akbah, so I had to "wing it".

nailbite_smile
 
SonnyB said:
Lu-Ann,

Thank you. You're making me feel a lot better. Right now Sonny has his face in a can of FF...our other two are not amused :-) He misses his dry, but I pulled it up for now. Once we see some normal levels, we'll let him have a bit for a treat if he insists. Our other two are not amused at the empty hallway where we feed the crunchers. They'll get over it.

I appreciate what others are saying, I really do. But to be told that I'm treating him wrong, my vet doesn't know what he's doing...nobody has a right to say that about anyone else unless they are truly aware of the whole situation, the particular animal, the person and the vet. I've already been told I'm wrong for even letting the vet treat with insulin, then I'm using the wrong insulin, I'm wrong for allowing the vet to do testing, everybody here seems to think they are the only "right" ones. It's frustrating, and makes me consider just leaving altogether. (You haven't been like that, not at all! And there have been others who have been supportive). Our vet is less than happy about having so few options for insulins, and he hates that the better ones are in the $100 range. He agrees that starting with the least expensive and most available is the proper thing to do.

Going to go see what my eating machine is up to. At least he's not one of the cats who experience appetite loss. He used to be a big guy, 16 lbs...between this and the hyperthyroid, he's down to 9.5, but now that we know about both (we were just treating for hyper-T but he kept losing) hopefully he'll bulk back up. I'd like to see him back around 12 lbs.

If someone has said that you are treating Sonny wrong, I bet they mean that the advice and directions you have been receiving from your vet may not be the best, and that's likely based on their own experiences and what they have seen from other cats on this site.

I would like to address the insulin choice. While this N insulin is cheap, it honestly is not the best choice if you want to see some smooth progress with Sonny. I bet your vet would agree because of the mention of hating that the other options are so expensive.

I know it's tough in the beginning... just speaking for myself, I did not even know cats could have diabetes, and now I have two who are also insulin resistant which requires quite high doses. Go figure, huh? I got told by my vet to give caninsulin twice a day and then I find out later that it's better for dogs and that there had also been a problem with it and there was a warning out on it.
I think we all believe that our vets MUST know all there is to know, right? But, just like with our own drs, they know lots, but they are not experts in everything.

I know that there is a doc called N primer around someplace; I think I kept a copy, but have never used this insulin..
Here's some info on the diff types of insulin that may help you understand a bit behind what others are saying to you along the way:
Here are a few definitions of some terms that are used when talking about insulin and BG (blood glucose) curves.
The peak of any insulin means when it is strongest, or working the hardest. At this time, your pet's blood glucose levels will be at their lowest, or at their nadir. Once you know this time for your pet on a particular insulin, you know the ideal time for a peak blood test.
na•dir   /ˈneɪdər, ˈneɪdɪər/ Show Spelled[ney-der, ney-deer] Show IPA
Onset is the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream and begins lowering blood glucose. Insulins with long onset (2 to 4 hours) are typically the long-acting insulins, or those that have long duration. Those insulins with the shortest onset times (30 minutes) belong to the fast-acting category, or those with relatively short duration. The intermediate-acting insulins have a 1-2 hour onset with 8-12 hours of duration.
Duration is the length of time an insulin continues to lower blood glucose.

The four duration categories are:
* Rapid-acting or Fast-acting insulin begins to work shortly after injection, peaks in about 1 hour, and continue to work for 2 to 4 hours.
* Regular or Short-acting insulin reaches the bloodstream 30 minutes to an hour after injection, peaks anywhere from 2 to 3 hours after injection, and is effective for approximately 6-8 hours.
* Intermediate-acting insulin generally reaches the bloodstream about 1-2 hours after injection, and is effective for about 8 to 12 hours.
* Long-acting insulin generally reaches the bloodstream about 2 to 4 hours after injection, peaks 4 to 8 hours later and is effective for about 12 to 18 hours.

Note that an insulin that is long-acting in humans may be intermediate-acting in cats. The duration classes used here are for humans and usually match those in dogs -- their classifications in cats are somewhat shorter due to cats' faster metabolism.
Carryover or carry-over refers to insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration. It's been observed that some long-acting insulins leave an insulin depot[1] under the skin that has a small residual effect that may last anywhere from 12 to 48 hours, after the principal action has ended. Note* this effect is primarily observed with insulins like Lantus and levemir.
Overlap refers to the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect. Caregivers can purposefully manage overlap to increase the effect of insulin on their pets' blood glucose levels and thus hold the curve of their blood glucose levels fairly flat.
Suppose a cat gets an insulin shot every 12 hours, gets 15 hours duration from each shot, and is on an insulin that has a three hour onset. During the 3 hours after each insulin shot, there will be two insulin shots working to reduce blood glucose levels: the diminishing previous shot and the rising current shot. This may mean that the ongoing insulin dose should be less than if no overlap was used.
*consider the principal action of the insulin to be its onset, peak, and duration. If you shoot insulin again before the duration has expired, there will be overlap. Carryover is whatever small residual effect is left after duration has expired.


And here's more info on the durations:
Most people are using the long-acting insulins today. Most of the other types are only used by humans or in some cats with special needs (ie. high dose cats with Acro etc.) Many of the short and intermediate insulins have been done away with.
Short acting insulins are usually designated by the letter R (Humalin R, Novalin R) they are never used alone, typically they are given as a bolus at Preshot to bring the BG down quickly in the first few hours of the cycle before the basal insulin (a long acting) begins to take effect. This is used by high dose cats with conditions like Acro or insulin resistant antibodies. It may also be used in an inpatient setting to manage a cat with ketoacidosis.
Intermediate insulins (Lente) are insulins like Vetsulin (Caninsulin) and NPH, some of the human insulins have N in thier name (Humalin N) although some vets are still prescribing them they are becoming less used. Espcially since Vetsulin has been taken off the market in many countries. The more successes with long acting insulins have encouraged many vets to avoid these once typical insulins. Many are however still used with good results in dogs with diabetes (dogs have a metabolism more like humans and these insulins work much longer for them) the animal approved insulin (Vetsulin, in Europe/Canada sold as Caninsulin) was made primarily for dogs.
Long-acting insulins are the synthetic analogs such as Lantus and Levemir. PZI and Prozinc are simular to these however thier duration is often somewhat shorter putting them "in between" intermediate and long-acting. Several other long acting insulins are no longer manufactured (Ultratard, Humalin U)


Here's the link to the Humulin Primer and it may help you with the insulin N you are using:
Humulin Primer Info

A couple points about food:
Some cats can take up to 3days to get the carbs from dry food out of their system, so you may find that Sonny is very carb sensitive like my Shadoe, so don't worry about the high numbers greatly as it may be the dry food just working out of Sonny's system. I fed all my cats dry food for yrs and felt bad when I found out that it was not good for them.... I sure saw a BIG difference in Shadoe with no more dry food, and there have been plenty of cats who go off insulin, just by changing form dry food to low carb wet food. Sure the dry may be OK for a few cats, but for sure NOT OK for diabetic cats.
It sounds like Sonny will be fine on the wet food though!

Now on the dose you are giving... a couple comments:
In most cases, when a cat is getting 5u twice a day of an insulin and STILL has such high BG numbers, the first thing some people think is TOO MUCH INSULIN. They think that way because MOST cats never need that much insulin, ever, except in a couple circumstances....
1. the cat's diet is very high carb (dry food). There was one cat who was getting 20u of insulin twice a day and people went WHOA! It was then found that the cat was eating dry food, and once switched to low carb wet food, that same cat dropped to 1u of insulin twice a day... big diff, huh!

2. the cat's possibly got an insulin resistance condition, like acromegaly, IAA, or cushings maybe. I have two cats with acromegaly, and one also has IAA. If you were to find that even with the switch to low carb food, your cat still needed ever increasing dose, there are tests that can be done to rule out or confirm such conditions.

Now, people may be saying too much insulin and they may be right. Let's say that Sonny actually needs only 2u twice a day (BID) and you started him at 5u... what could happen? I think there's a possibility of constant high numbers, like you are seeing.

Me, I am betting the dose is too high and once you are on all wet food, you may need to be giving much less insulin and you will start to see Sonny improve. Watch for his urine output to decrease, his coat to seem healthier, and very slowly, the weight will come back on. In most cases, you will see improvements in the cat before you see improvement in the cat's numbers, OK?

With your home testing, you will be able to see EXACTLY what's up with Sonny's numbers, and don't worry about that cycle of 500s.... EVERYBODY has had their share of fur shots, so we can relate! One thing that is most important:
If you think you have given a fur shot, NEVER shoot more insulin! Just say oh rats, and you can be more careful on the next shot. While we may think we gave a fur shot and may even smell some insulin on the cat, we have no way of knowing how much made it into the cat! For all you know, you just withdrew the syringe too quickly after injection and a drop was left on the cat.

For having just received the news last week, YOU are doing incredible already!
Pat yourself on the back and big hugs to Sonny, because you guys are on the way to a healthier and happier times for Sonny.

Please ask every question you have because I highly doubt you will have a question that has not been asked by many before you.


To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.
 
Hey Terri -

Hope Sonny's having a Happy Valentines Day, and that he's finally come down from the high wire. Grayson's barely sniffing his insulin and still getting long cycles, so I'm hopeful he'll be one of the lucky 35% that ultimately goes "off the juice". I'm sure he'd love it if I'd stop poking him!

Lu-Ann & the little turnip
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top