Lori and Atticus
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone!
I introduced Atticus just a few days ago. She was put on .5 units of Lantus 2 times a day and I am home testing. When I posted before I had just gotten some basics down and just needed it to soak in before I try to go any further. Diabetes is complicated and I want the best for her so here I am. :-| I think I just need some reassurance, encouragement, and definitely more information if you have it. Here are my comments and questions. I know I haven't done the spreadsheet yet. I plan to start it soon. I have my own spreadsheet I am documenting everything though because life is CRAZY busy here! I work full time, go to school, homeschool my son, keep up with two dogs and two cats, and my husband travels all the time. I'm sure you can imagine how chaotic it gets here. ;-)
Before I go into any details of what's going on, I wanted to give you a little bit about Atticus's personality so you get the full picture. Although she loves me, she is not a snuggly cat. She will sleep next to me every night and she lays next to me during the day, but she's not crazy about being held. She is getting better about all the "physical attention" from me with insulin and BG tests, but she will spend half the day under the bed to avoid as much "contact" as possible. There is NO getting her out from under the bed either. It turns into a nasty fight if I attempt. It stresses her and me so much that if she's under there, I just wait her out. :mrgreen:
Ok, so...
1.) Atticus is eating better. I was having to force feed her with a syringe, but now she is eating 3-6 oz of Fancy Feast classic on her own daily. I know she needs to eat more and I coax her to, but at least she is eating on her own. My question is this: She is underweight. Her healthy weight is 10 - 10.5 lbs and she is currently 9.2 lbs. I know diabetes ultimately causes them to starve. At what point (what BG levels) is her body able to function so that she is not technically starving. I need for her to gain weight, not lose it. I fear force feeding her unless she regresses at this point because she is a bit skittish and it stresses her out pretty bad even if I'm gentle.
2.) There have been 4 times since Friday morning (her first dose of insulin) that her BG level was too low for me to shoot so I skipped it until her BG level was at least 200. The last three doses she has needed though, so it looks like she is evening out a little and actually ready for a dose around 12-14 hours (sometimes 16-18 hours) after the last dose. Is this normal that sometimes she may not need insulin or do you think it has to do with the fact that she's eating more and it's making her BG higher? Is it bad that her schedule is so off? I don't want to shoot unless she needs it. I know that sounds like a really dumb questions. I think I just need reassurance because I feel like I'm messing up somehow.
3.) The vet tells me to shoot if she hits 180, but I don't feel comfortable with shooting until at least 200 because a couple of times she was around 209 or 211 and I would shoot and she was in the 60's the next morning.
That was before she was eating better though, so once again it has improved also. Should I just suck it up and shoot if she hits 200. Just make sure she eats and she should be fine? She is only on .5 unit/ 2 times a day. It's a very low dose and I really can't go much lower.
I know that my information is not in the format you guys are used to. I haven't quite got that down, but I thought I would post up what her BG levels and insulin shots have looked like for the last few days to see if you guys think it looks ok so far or if you see something that I need to look into, watch out for, or change. :smile: Oh. and the reason she didn't get insulin at 8:40 this morning when her BG was 212 was because she hid from me under the bed for two hours. :YMSIGH: Sorry for all the dumb questions. I just know that you guys are a lot more experienced in this and I am terrified of missing something that will hurt Atticus. :sad:
Action Date Time Amount
BG 9/27/12 6:00 PM 344
BG 9/28/12 11:30 AM 211
Insulin 9/28/12 11:30 AM .5 U
BG 9/28/12 6:45 PM 186
BG 9/28/12 11:15 PM 209
Insulin 9/28/12 11:15 PM .5 U
BG 9/29/12 10:45 AM 64
BG 9/29/12 4:35 PM 87
BG 9/29/12 11:25 PM 161
BG 9/30/12 8:05 AM 283
Insulin 9/30/12 8:45 AM .25 U (vet suggestion to try lower doses)
BG 9/30/12 11:40 AM 230
BG 9/30/12 4:30 PM 191
BG 9/30/12 10:00 PM 259
Insulin 9/30/12 10:00 PM .5 U
BG 10/1/12 9:30 AM 147
BG 10/1/12 5:45 PM 259
Insulin 10/1/12 5:45 PM .5 U
BG 10/1/12 10:15 PM 98
BG 10/2/12 8:40 AM 212
BG 10/2/12 10:30 AM 218
Insulin 10/2/12 10:30 AM .5 U
BG 10/2/12 3:20 PM 123
Thank you so much for your help!
Atticus's mom (Lori)
I introduced Atticus just a few days ago. She was put on .5 units of Lantus 2 times a day and I am home testing. When I posted before I had just gotten some basics down and just needed it to soak in before I try to go any further. Diabetes is complicated and I want the best for her so here I am. :-| I think I just need some reassurance, encouragement, and definitely more information if you have it. Here are my comments and questions. I know I haven't done the spreadsheet yet. I plan to start it soon. I have my own spreadsheet I am documenting everything though because life is CRAZY busy here! I work full time, go to school, homeschool my son, keep up with two dogs and two cats, and my husband travels all the time. I'm sure you can imagine how chaotic it gets here. ;-)
Before I go into any details of what's going on, I wanted to give you a little bit about Atticus's personality so you get the full picture. Although she loves me, she is not a snuggly cat. She will sleep next to me every night and she lays next to me during the day, but she's not crazy about being held. She is getting better about all the "physical attention" from me with insulin and BG tests, but she will spend half the day under the bed to avoid as much "contact" as possible. There is NO getting her out from under the bed either. It turns into a nasty fight if I attempt. It stresses her and me so much that if she's under there, I just wait her out. :mrgreen:
Ok, so...
1.) Atticus is eating better. I was having to force feed her with a syringe, but now she is eating 3-6 oz of Fancy Feast classic on her own daily. I know she needs to eat more and I coax her to, but at least she is eating on her own. My question is this: She is underweight. Her healthy weight is 10 - 10.5 lbs and she is currently 9.2 lbs. I know diabetes ultimately causes them to starve. At what point (what BG levels) is her body able to function so that she is not technically starving. I need for her to gain weight, not lose it. I fear force feeding her unless she regresses at this point because she is a bit skittish and it stresses her out pretty bad even if I'm gentle.
2.) There have been 4 times since Friday morning (her first dose of insulin) that her BG level was too low for me to shoot so I skipped it until her BG level was at least 200. The last three doses she has needed though, so it looks like she is evening out a little and actually ready for a dose around 12-14 hours (sometimes 16-18 hours) after the last dose. Is this normal that sometimes she may not need insulin or do you think it has to do with the fact that she's eating more and it's making her BG higher? Is it bad that her schedule is so off? I don't want to shoot unless she needs it. I know that sounds like a really dumb questions. I think I just need reassurance because I feel like I'm messing up somehow.
3.) The vet tells me to shoot if she hits 180, but I don't feel comfortable with shooting until at least 200 because a couple of times she was around 209 or 211 and I would shoot and she was in the 60's the next morning.
I know that my information is not in the format you guys are used to. I haven't quite got that down, but I thought I would post up what her BG levels and insulin shots have looked like for the last few days to see if you guys think it looks ok so far or if you see something that I need to look into, watch out for, or change. :smile: Oh. and the reason she didn't get insulin at 8:40 this morning when her BG was 212 was because she hid from me under the bed for two hours. :YMSIGH: Sorry for all the dumb questions. I just know that you guys are a lot more experienced in this and I am terrified of missing something that will hurt Atticus. :sad:
Action Date Time Amount
BG 9/27/12 6:00 PM 344
BG 9/28/12 11:30 AM 211
Insulin 9/28/12 11:30 AM .5 U
BG 9/28/12 6:45 PM 186
BG 9/28/12 11:15 PM 209
Insulin 9/28/12 11:15 PM .5 U
BG 9/29/12 10:45 AM 64
BG 9/29/12 4:35 PM 87
BG 9/29/12 11:25 PM 161
BG 9/30/12 8:05 AM 283
Insulin 9/30/12 8:45 AM .25 U (vet suggestion to try lower doses)
BG 9/30/12 11:40 AM 230
BG 9/30/12 4:30 PM 191
BG 9/30/12 10:00 PM 259
Insulin 9/30/12 10:00 PM .5 U
BG 10/1/12 9:30 AM 147
BG 10/1/12 5:45 PM 259
Insulin 10/1/12 5:45 PM .5 U
BG 10/1/12 10:15 PM 98
BG 10/2/12 8:40 AM 212
BG 10/2/12 10:30 AM 218
Insulin 10/2/12 10:30 AM .5 U
BG 10/2/12 3:20 PM 123
Thank you so much for your help!
Atticus's mom (Lori)