Some questions about Sharess and Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicky & Sharess

Member Since 2022
Previous posts

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sharess-the-bouncer.272749/#post-3054905

Hello group,

I haven't written about Sharess in a while. She is getting better little by little and we no longer have black numbers and we see less and less red numbers, which is fantastic. Also, her average sugar is between 150 and 250, with 40-55% in the range Lately.

We are using the modified Prozinc method but, in recent days it has been weird to give her insulin because, at the time of injection, she did not have high enough sugar to do so, so we have delayed the injection time on more than one occasion, which means that sometimes we have to waking up at odd hours to give her a shot in the middle of the night. How do you do it in these cases? Is it a sign of possible remission? The truth is that we are very happy, because Sharess feels infinitely better and jumps like she used to :cat:
 
What has been your "no shoot" number? I can't figure out what that's been by looking at the spreadsheet. I do see some skips with preshots in the 100's, but you don't need to skip those once you have data, experience, and ability to monitor. According to the modified method, you can shoot lower numbers if you can monitor.
 
The vet told us that it was safe to shot her from 240 on, but less than that could be dangerous. The truth is that every time we shot her with numbers that are too low, she bounced a lot after, which is why we have skipped the hours. For example, today, every time she goes up to 200, she goes back down to 140 half an hour later, so we decided to wait and skip the AM shot. I really don't know if we are doing the right thing but she seens better every day...
 
Hello! I remember “ Sharess the Bouncer” and I am happy to see that she’s made progress and hear that she feels well! I have to admit that I am having a great deal of trouble understanding her spreadsheet. I cannot tell what time she has been getting her shots - except that some have been given 7 hours late? I would not do this. You are making things very hard on yourself.

I agree with @Wendy&Neko that, when following MPM, you can shoot lower numbers. Also, is she wearing a Libre? It looks like she is monitored round the clock, so I am assuming a Libre. With this level of monitoring, you certainly can shoot lower numbers and get her into some green numbers. If she drops to 50, you will be able to feed her high carb food or karo syrup to bring her numbers up, if necessary. So, as long as you are with her and monitoring her, you can keep her safe. If she presents with a blue preshot like this morning, I would shoot a slightly reduced dose of maybe .75 units. If you are uncomfortable with that then I would try a half dose of .5 units. Then you can gather data on how she does. It will help you to determine what to do the next time she has a blue preshot. This would also keep her on schedule.
 
Ok, I'll ignore the vet then. She told us that, in cases of low numbers, we would inject her later or skip the dose, but if we skip it, she usually goes up a lot, so we always inject her late.

Yes, Sharess uses Libre. I record in the notes when a Libre ends and when I have to put another one, to keep track of the shots.

Normally we shot her at 12am and 12pm, except when we delay the dose due to low numbers. From now on we will try to shot her despite the blue numbers.

Thank you very much for the advice! You all are great and I don't know what I would do without this forum :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top