Socks trace ketones (thread on health)

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
I posted this on the health board a few hours ago, didn't look like anyone was around here at the time.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=97726

Hopefully he's coming back down from his bounce, I did get a readable number at least.

If you guys have any input, I would appreciate it. I'm headed to work now, hopefully get out early to watch this cat some more.
 
Full blown DKA needs 3 things to happen at the same time. Not enough insulin, not eating and an infection somewhere, like a UTI, absessed tooth that sort of thing.

Adding water to his food is great, the extra water helps flush the ketones out, you can increase the insulin dose right away too.

As long as the ketones are trace he should be ok but anything more than trace becomes a vet or ER visit. I think a vet visit next week would be a good idea to rule out any infection and they can show you how to do fluids so you can do it at home if they are needed, then you will have them just in case. Giving fluids is alot like giving insulin but the needle is bigger and it takes a little longer.

Paws crossed the ketones go away.
 
If he were mine, I really think I'd consider changing insulin. He is so volatile in ProZinc from lows way up to blacks. No guarantees, but either Lantus or Levemir might give him a shallower curve without the drastic jumps. Do you think your vet would consider that?
 
I'm going to have to keep an eye on him to test him again for ketones when I get home, hopefully they are negative or trace.

And will have to take him in to the vet, but I do have slight experience with fluids due to his crf.

Im assuming I can't increase the insulin unless I can monitor?

His appetite is pretty good and he seemed perkier today, his amps was 340 and+4 was 315, which is probably a big factor in his perkiness.

About switching insulins im not sure it would work with my schedule, take today for example, I gave him his am shot two hours late because I knew I wouldn't be home in time, his pm shot will most likely be an hour or two late but hopefully not much more than that (hopefully I don't get stuck at work late). It was that or his pm shot being four to six hours late. My work schedule has me coming in at different times each day, today I had to go in six hours earlier than usual, hence the messed up shot times.

Next week my work schedule is even more screwed up :/ but the fiance will at least be back in town to help out.

Weird, this showed as posted on my phone but I guess it didn't go through, unless this turns out to be a double post.
 
Server is being switched over today. Back up anything you want saved. Posts after 2 PM CST will be lost. Not sure when the switch over will be complete.
 
Then ProZinc is probably the best choice, but he is sure bouncing around on it. You do get some nice numbers, but we hate those reds and blacks...... He looks better the last few cycles.

How do the ketones look? Were you able to water down the food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top