Socks' Dosing

Amy and Socks

Member Since 2019
Thought I'd start a thread for Socks to help me keep up with my thoughts/ideas and in case more experienced ProZinc users happen to see patterns I'm missing.

He was 283 at AMPS and received 1 unit insulin. 305 at +2.
 
Last edited:
I'm a ProZinc user, though I'm not as experienced as some of our other members. Honestly, 283 and 305 are basically the same reading, since all meters have a little wiggle room. Maybe try to get a +5 reading as well, to see how he's doing mid-cycle. Maybe even a +5 and a +7 if your schedule allows.

Here's the thing. Pancreases don't heal all at once. Sometimes they're all "Hey, let's make some insulin!" Then a few days later they're all "I'm tired...think I'll take a nap." This is perfectly normal. Don't view the lowered dose as a setback. Based on your spreadsheet, it was a smart choice at the time. Now, maybe Sock's pancreas needs a bit extra help as it takes a rest. The healing isn't usually a steady progression. For now, I would hold steady at that 1 unit dose for a few days, and gather more blood glucose reading data. Be prepared to reduce again by .25 unit increments if you start seeing greens again. After a few days, we can look at your speadsheet and reevaluate.
 
I have a full-time job, so I get a +2 before I leave to check him. If he's having an active cycle, I try to get home at lunch to check his nadir (ish), but it's not something I can do every day.

I've been doing this for a few months now, so I'm familiar with when and how to change the dose. I just thought it would be good to have more eyes in case there happens to be something I miss or haven't learned yet. In the beginning I missed dose decreases a few times because I hadn't discovered that info yet.

I know not many people do these dosing threads on the ProZinc forum, and not many experienced ProZinc users are around, but I figured it couldn't hurt.
 
I know you aren't a newbie like me! I tend to explain too much for fear of explaining too little! :) Get your tests in when you can, and I know that often means more tests have to wait for days off from work.
 
I wish I could test more. The more data, the better! Sometimes I look back to see what happened when x happened before, but I have little to no data for that particular situation. :(

Even though I'm pretty sure I'm doing things correctly, it's just frustrating to see higher numbers again, and I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can. He's almost 16 now, so I worry (probably more than necessary) because I know his little body is just going to get less and less resilient.

I think this is partly my need to brainstorm and/or vent, and I appreciate you taking the time to chime in.
 
When Socks received the sub-q fluids, where did they give them?
Same area as you inject insulin?

Sub-q fluids and insulin shot in the same location can affect the absorption of the insulin. It's why I'm asking.

Ok to vent. We all need to.
 
Ok, just wanted to check. (Darn, that wasn't it.)

Next brainstorming idea needed. Maybe something will percolate in my brain over night while I sleep.
 
Moving out of the pinks at AMPS & PMPS with Prozinc is excellent!

If we could only figure out what was different about that 1/29/20 to 2/1/20 stretch of time that got Socks down to the blues and greens, you'd be golden.
 
If we could only figure out what was different about that 1/29/20 to 2/1/20 stretch of time that got Socks down to the blues and greens, you'd be golden.
The 29th and 30th he was either not eating or throwing up what he did eat, and he was getting IV fluids, so those days were anomalies. Maybe once he got food again consistently, his pancreas decided to take a break.

I think I was just disappointed since he was going down so much, I thought we were on the way to remission. Just have to remind myself that we've come a long way already- he went up to 4.75 units before we started coming back down. I just have to remember not to get too excited too soon.
 
You're right, Amy. It takes as long as it takes. There's no rushing it. Sometimes the pancreas starts making insulin and then needs a bit more of a rest. Socks has made great progress.
 
Socks was 211 at AMPS and then +2 shows the food spike.
Let's see how he does the rest of this AM cycle.

Any chance of a test before the PMPS?

I think Socks need a tiny bit more insulin. Increase when you are home to monitor.
 
Hi Amy, I simply wanted to make you aware of this.

All the "Sticky" or pinned posts in the Prozinc forum have been updated and there are a couple of new ones.

Highly recommend that everyone using Prozinc or helping those using Prozinc read them thoroughly.

I'll be doing that myself. Been expecting this for some time. Came about a week before I thought it would.
Thanks Marje, and Robert, and especially Djamila for the Modified Prozinc Method. You folks are FANTASTIC!
 
Back
Top