Socks 5/27 AMPS 500, +2 411, PMPS 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
Is close to a hundred point drop in two hours after eating some an average drop or a steep drop or not much of a drop? I'll test him in about 45 minutes for a +4 just to see if he's still dropping.

Sue - you made me chuckle about the ketone strips, but it did give me a better idea, lol.

I will keep up with the 1.25 when he's in the high numbers, and as soon as I'm able to watch him midcycle and he goes down to the 300s I'll try 1.25 then. Unless you guys think I should try 1.5 for these 400+ numbers, but I haven't really been able to get a midcycle test in.
 
Re: Socks 5/27 AMPS 500, +2 411

Let's see how he does today. You got a +7 last night and it was still high, so 1.5 is looking more reasonable.
 
Re: Socks 5/27 AMPS 500, +2 411

405 @ +4.

I'll be going to bed now, since he didn't have another drop. Probably shoot 1.5 this afternoon if he is high still and the fiance will be able to watch him while I'm at work, otherwise I'll up it tomorrow.
 
Re: Socks 5/27 AMPS 500, +2 411

Sounds good. I'd say we either see an improvement or it's time to switch insulin. Interesting that Chuck and Susan were getting wild swings on Lantus and it looks like ProZinc may be calmer. It's that crazy ECID thing.
 
159 @ PMPS.

Never a dull moment with this cat. If I can't shoot before work, I'll have to see if the fiance can test him in another hour or so. This cat is bugging the hell out of me for his meal too.

Wonder if he's having a long cycle or he dipped down into dangerous numbers and is on the rise now, hmm.

Think I'll tell him to go with .5 in the 200s and 1 unit in the 300s, 1.25 400 and up. You guys agree?
 
20 minutes later he's 144, I'm going to feed him right now as I'm headed out the door. Do you think it's a good idea for him to test in another hour or half hour?
 
If you feed him he should rise and then you will need to wait for the shot anyway. So I guess skip.

This is so frustrating! Do you have the U100 needles? Another possiblity would be to try a 1.4 on those higher numbers and see if it would be enough but not too much......
 
I can have the fiance wait two hours to give him his shot, to be sure his number isn't affected by the food and give him that same scale. The am shot was 1.25, do you mean like 1.2 or something?
 
Sorry, yes. 1.2. Who knows if that will make a difference. He is so confusing. He takes a long time to react to a dose and he bounces so high!
 
When he bounces from this look back at the past patterns to determine how long the bounce will last. It might help determine doses and timing.

Hopefully the bounce time will start reducing.
 
Well, he wasn't able to give him a shot when he was in the 200s at +14.5, so he gave him 1 unit at +16.5. I have to show him how to eyeball a quarter of a unit. I was only going to have him shoot a .25 anyway, which looks like it would not have even mattered now.

BG hasn't come down low enough for the meter to be able to read, I tested at +3,6,9. Would I be safe to give him a shot at +10? I'm thinking 1.25 should be good, since he's on quite the bounce right now, yes? His last bounce looked like it lasted a day and a half.
 
I think that will work. We generally say not to shoot the bounce but we can't leave him in the 600s.

Can you get the U100 syringes so you can shoot the lower doses? Some states don't require prescriptions.
 
Okay, I gave him 1.25 units, ended up being closer to +10.75/+11. I'm going to wake up to get a +6, even though I'm assuming he will remain high for a while.

I don't know which needles I should get, here are three links:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... 70_179.htm
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... 71_179.htm
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... 72_179.htm

The syringes I have now are 1/2 cc 1/2" 29 gauge. I did a google search and it appears that I shouldn't need a prescription for syringes in Missouri, but 1800petmeds would not let me buy without one. I went as far as entering the billing address on the above website and I never got a message saying I needed a prescription, so I'm hoping I don't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top