Socks 5/24 AMPS 400, flat cycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
OMG what is wrong with this cat? I'm fairly certain he's not getting fur shots, as I check for wetness and smell his fur. He's had all these high flat cycles recently, when at the beginning of the month the same dose at around the same preshot numbers brought him down into blues (4/29, 5/1, 5/3-6 and a few days ago along with a bounce). Should I ask on the main health board to get more eyes on it?

Maybe I'm injecting him between his skin and fat layer, would that make a difference? I'm reading you are supposed to shoot into the fat layer, but I'm so worried about hurting him by shooting into the muscle that I may be just lifting his skin and leaving the fat below.
 
I don't know and I hate that I don't know. They are not inverse curves so it doesn't look like too much insulin. He was responding when you first upped the dose and then he stopped.

Nothing else going on? He can't get into any high carb? He is acting well - no infections? No teeth problems? How old is the insulin?

I guess, as soon you can be around, up it to 1.5 and see what he does. Maybe that will give us a clue. And don't be discouraged. 1.5 is not a big dose; it is still just a little insulin.

I just always pulled up the skin and shot into it. Didn't you change the place you shoot recently too? You certainly can vary that.

You can post on Health but all PZI people post here. I would guess you'll get reponses about changing insulin and that may not be a bad idea.
 
A cat's dosage needs changes, oftren with no.apparent reason. I've has Cass everywhere from 0.4 to 1.4u; right now he's at 1.0. I always hate to increase, bit if that's what he needs, that's what he needs. All you can do is try an increase & see if it works.
 
If you are going to be around for the long weekend, it would be a good time to try 1.5u and monitor to see how it goes.

I found that using a short needle I would shoot into the layer of fat and the insulin didn't see to work as well, I switched to the longer needle and got better results. Try different things and see what works, log your findings in the comments column for future use.
 
Just wanted to chime in on the "shooting into muscle" question.

For reasons specific to Bob, he got all of his shots for ten weeks, directly into muscle. They don't hurt. At least they didn't seem to hurt him. He flinched a couple of times, but I think I hit bone on those shots.

If it happens on occasion, it's not a huge deal. Muscle shots seem to cause faster absorption of the insulin, but not at a hugely different rate.
 
He can't possibly be getting into other food, the only food he can get into is the canned stuff he hasn't finished. His teeth are really bad, but the vet and I have not wanted to do a dental because of his CRF. I really wish he would have had a dental cleaning done before he had CRF, but he was not my cat then :sad:.

I have not changed the place I shoot other than alternating sides, I decided to up the dose first and see if that made a difference, instead of doing both at the same time.

Unfortunately, I work in a casino, so when everyone else gets a long weekened, I get extra work, lol. But he had more encouraging numbers, even got 187 @ +9.5, nadir might have been +6, but who knows with this cat, heh. I just gave him 1 unit since pmps was 330, and I would not feel comfortable giving him 1.25 if I'm not sure I can have someone watch him.

The needle I'm using is probably about half an inch long I think, is that the longer needle? I've had him flinch a few times when I'm pretty sure I wasn't even shooting into muscle, so that's why I'm worried about hurting him. Usually he's fine as long as I get him while he's eating.

I was actually expecting a higher number from a bounce, but maybe we are still on the upswing of a bounce. I'll try and have the fiance get at least a +6 or somewhere around there, but knowing this cat, he'll probably have another one of his flat cycles.
 
Like the 187. That is much nicer than those reds. Wonder if his nadir was earlier and lower? That would be encouraging. So maybe his pattern is to bounce a full cycle after the lower number. That would be unusual but anything is possible.

Agree that it is wise to wait until you are around before you up the dose.
 
I think that lowering the dose to 1 unit on a PS that was almost 100 points lower was a good move.

Nice that you havent seen a black number in a few days too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top