Socks 5/21 AMPS "HI"

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member
Well, we were seeing some better numbers for a while at least. Back into the black. I'm so frustrated.

Is there some health reason this would be happening? I wonder if I should take him to the specialist but my fiancé has possibly just lost his job and I'm trying to pay my credit cards down so I would like to avoid having to spend several more hundred right now if at all possible.

I knew his numbers were going to shoot back up when I tested at +10.5 and got 418, but this is just so disheartening.

I suppose I'll wake up to get a +6ish test in. Gave him 1 unit.
 
It is definitely important to get his numbers down so his pancreas and kidneys can heal. Have you seen this site on CRF? It has great links and resources.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=95781

I would guess his high this am is a bounce from last night's nice numbers. He hasn't seen those in a while and his body may have panicked and released extra glucose. Let's see if he settles back down. This is a guessing game. You have some room to raise to 1.25 if you can monitor but it could make the bouncing worse. It is hard to wait and see those highs, but he should get used to the yellows and settle down. You could wait a cycle or two and see if you see more yellows and he quits bouncing. You could be agressive and monitor carefully and raise the dose. He probably will still bounce but from lower numbers; it might mean the bounces take longer to settle. Or not. I wish I had a definite answer for you. The bounces are the hardest part of this dance. There is a cat who used Lantus who bounced for two years. I think that's a record although our Cassie (bookworm) came close.
 
Where do you inject? If not in the scruff, I'm wondering if doing it there would slow it down a bit and make for a less steep curve.
 
Once again little to no improvement for +7, 533. What a disgusting number to see. Although, it's hard to say what his amps was since the meter reads up to 600. Still I am really getting tired of these reds and blacks.

I have been to those CRF sites and luckily his CRF has not been so bad to need fluids or anything else. His levels have been a bit elevated the last few blood tests, but not by much I think. I'm just worried this will send his kidneys over the edge and want him regulated before that happens. Everyone at the vet calls him the miracle cat because he bounced back so well from the CRF, he was down to 6 pounds when I took him in and looked like he was on death's doorstep, he's 11 pounds now, down from around 12-13 for a while. He sure isn't pulling any miracles with diabetes though.

I have been injecting in his upper sides, alternating between shots. Should I try the scruff again the next few shots?
 
It doesn't seem like he'd still be bouncing. You're right; thye are ugly numbers. If you can monitor at midcycle tonight, I think I'd try 1.25?
 
Make 1 change at a time, so you can determine which change had an effect - ie increase by 0.25 or shoot in the scruff, not both at the same time.
 
Well, I went with 1.25, pmps was 561, and I was getting ready to up the dose anyway. I'll see if it has any impact, and if you think in a few cycles I should try shooting in the scruff I'll make that switch. At least the meter was able to read his number this time, lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top