So...should I go up .25u or stay where I am?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohiogal

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

Over the past week Casey's numbers seem to have stabilized to the point where she's been in the mid-200s for her AMPS and mid-200s to 300 for her PMPS shots.

Last weekend I did curves and got blues both days.

She's been at 2 units for a couple of weeks now.

Should I keep her where she is, or go up another quarter unit? Or maybe wait another week?

Advice is appreciated! Thanks! :-)
 
Hi Sarah!

I'm not sure what's best in this case since you were getting those blue numbers, including that blue PS number a couple of days ago. The SLGS protocol says to keep the dose the same if nadirs are between 90-149 and to raise if they are over 150. But it will bump this so that other eyes can see it.

Personally, I may want to increase to 2.25 and see where that takes her, just to see if we can spend more time in the blues and hopefully greens. But I'd feel more comfortable if others felt the same first....
 
LILandKIT said:
Hi Sarah!

I'm not sure what's best in this case since you were getting those blue numbers, including that blue PS number a couple of days ago. The SLGS protocol says to keep the dose the same if nadirs are between 90-149 and to raise if they are over 150. But it will bump this so that other eyes can see it.

Personally, I may want to increase to 2.25 and see where that takes her, just to see if we can spend more time in the blues and hopefully greens. But I'd feel more comfortable if others felt the same first....

Thanks Lil! :-D She had a rather high +2 (275) so I'm going to keep an eye on her curve today, and go from there. If she stays yellow all day I might bump her up to 2.25 and do another curve tomorrow, to see where the numbers are...
 
ohiogal said:
LILandKIT said:
Hi Sarah!

I'm not sure what's best in this case since you were getting those blue numbers, including that blue PS number a couple of days ago. The SLGS protocol says to keep the dose the same if nadirs are between 90-149 and to raise if they are over 150. But it will bump this so that other eyes can see it.

Personally, I may want to increase to 2.25 and see where that takes her, just to see if we can spend more time in the blues and hopefully greens. But I'd feel more comfortable if others felt the same first....

Thanks Lil! :-D She had a rather high +2 (275) so I'm going to keep an eye on her curve today, and go from there. If she stays yellow all day I might bump her up to 2.25 and do another curve tomorrow, to see where the numbers are...

No matter what sort of plan you are following, you can go by bits of the protocol used by many others when using Lantus and Lev:
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Good luck with the curve. It looks like Casey falls into that up .25u range.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top