Snow crashing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Papa Stark

Member Since 2014
Snow's PMPS was in the mid 30s (repeated stick to confirm). Per the Hypo treatment guide, I gave him half a can of Friskies Chicken in Gravy with a tablespoon of waffle syrup. He's eating it now. I don't know if the vet's feeding recommendation (1/2 can 3x day) is too low or what, but these aren't the kind of two digit numbers I want to see! How soon after he finishes the hi-carb food should I retest him? every 30 minutes? 20?

He's not showing any symptoms.
 
I'm only a novice so I don't give any dosing advice, but from what I've read here when other people have had cats at low numbers it's important to test sooner rather than later. Also, don't feed too much too fast. I think you need to keep feeding but not to the point where Snow will get too full.

I'm sure more experienced members will be along very soon to give you better guidance. Keep pressing F5 to refresh the board so you can see when someone replies.

Did you skip Snow's PM insulin injection?
 
I'd test again in 20 minutes. The syrup should bring him up but maybe temporarily. You want three rising numbers before you can relax. BTW good job!
 
His t+15m test has him at 131. I think I may have overcompensated and overfed him, though, because he licked the plate clean of his second helping too, but then wasn't even interested in his treat after his stick.

Sorry for the delay in responding to thank you both for answering. As soon as I read Sue's answer, I bolted. I figure if anyone would understand emergency trumping etiquette, it would be folks in the same boat. I do appreciate it, though.
 
Nothing wrong with your prioritisation, Papa Stark. :smile:

Did you skip Snow's insulin dose this evening?
 
Test again in 20 minutes. When the syrup is gone, he might drop again. If you have gravy food, you can feed a tablespoon of just the gravy.
 
Critter Mom said:
Nothing wrong with your prioritisation, Papa Stark. :smile:

Did you skip Snow's insulin dose this evening?

Yeah, wasn't letting that needle anywhere near him with those numbers.

Now I'm worried whether I should skip it entirely or give a delayed, partial dose if he gets too high in response to the rich food.
 
GOOD job handling what needed done when you saw that like a pro! Don't be upset when he zooms up to an ugly high number in a little while. Besides the carbs, his liver has probably joined the party and brought his own cake and ice cream....(secreted counterregulatory hormones in response to the low number). Snow sure knows how to earn a reduction doesn't he!

Oh you're going to be doing a Fast Step... :-D
 
At least that's one worry cleared up. It's a relief to see the numbers come up. Hopefully someone will be along soon to advise you on what to do next.

Edited to add:

And as if by magic, Squeaky appeared! :smile:
 
Squeaky and KT said:
GOOD job handling what needed done when you saw that like a pro! Don't be upset when he zooms up to an ugly high number in a little while. Besides the carbs, his liver has probably joined the party and brought his own cake and ice cream....(secreted counterregulatory hormones in response to the low number). Snow sure knows how to earn a reduction doesn't he!

Oh you're going to be doing a Fast Step... :-D

What's a "Fast Step?"

t+30 measurement is up to 261.

I panicked and screwed up... instead of giving him the high-carb food (chicken + gravy) in tablespoon-sized bits, I have him half the can.
 
I think I'd skip. He may be really high in the am (with all the extra glucose and the bounce his body may do in reaction to the low number.) But regardless, tomorrow I think I'd halve the dose and try one unit. It may take a while to get him back to a normal cycle but you have time to see how he does with a lower dose and then increase slowly, as the testing indicates.

Tomorrow is not a good time for a curve at the vet, if you can talk the vet out of it. He will likely still be bouncing from the low today - regardless, he won't be getting typical numbers. Certainly not anything you'd want to base a new dose on.

Congrats on your first low number, catching and dealing with it! Don't worry about the high carb glut. Yes, he will react but he'll be back on track soon. I am so glad you are testing at home. Imagine if you'd given 2 units on a 37!
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Imagine if you'd given 2 units on a 37!

I'd rather not. nailbite_smile

Thanks again for the help and advice, everyone. I'm glad I went against my instinct and signed up here (even on the internet, I'm a wallflower. ;) ).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top