Snoball's PMPS is 115 - should I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
I just updated his chart. I raised his dose to 1.5U this weekend and his numbers have been all over the place. I got a 75 yesterday and didn't shoot and it went to 386. Then this morning I got a 325 and gave him 1.5U and now he is at 115? I did not shoot but have just fed him. I know that newbies are not supposed to shoot below 200 but this kitty is on a roller coaster.
 
Problem is that you fed him. I would have preferred if you had stalled (no shoot no feed , wait 30 mins) so we could see what he was doing naturally.

Are you going to be able to get tests in tonite? At least a +3 and possibly more if he is dropping... Do you have lots of strips? If the answer is yes to both then you could shoot a reduced dose like 1 unit..

Wendy
 
Yes - I can get in tests tonight. I will shoot 1u and then watch him like a hawk. Thanks for the quick response.
 
Get a +2 first. You may find that it has gone up but dont get complacent since that could be the food. Then get a +3. If both those numbers are rising (by a reasonable amount ie more than 50 points each time) you are probably ok for the night. If either are dropping then more tests since you are in for an active cycle.

I will be here for you for at least till + 4. Please let me know what those results are and I can help you through.

Wendy
 
My kitties numbers are all over the place most days. I am always having to guess whether to give him a shot or not. I usually go ahead and give him a lower dose and then just keep an eye on him. Have no idea what makes his numbers jump around so much. Eating doesn't seem to affect them.
 
I guess that's why they call it a sugar dance!

Wendy, yes I will get a +2 and a +3 and more if needed. (9pm and 10pm EDT). Thanks
 
Yep, great data!

So two things

Next time you see a preshot over 100, I would stall 30mins (no feed or shoot) and see which way he is going and come and post here meantime. Then we might have you shoot the full dose and have someone stay up with you a while to be sure everything is ok . Good job tonite! He will probably have a high amps due to a bounce combined with lower shot.

Second, I think you might want to start posting on the lantus tight regulation board. You are welcome to post here too but they are much more experinced with dosing advice and its a great sense of community. I post there every other day for my two boys. Before you do, you might want a quick caveat in your signature saying "testing as much as I can" so that you don't get questions from the few members that are a bit more enthusiastic about lots of testing ;)

Here's how to post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you want/need/are able) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 07/09 Snoball PMPS 115 2 118 + 4 188. Add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever is convenient

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how snoball is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Snoball was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot. His preshot tonite is low help!!

For your first post include "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top