Eric Minor
Member Since 2017
Snickers was taken to the ER on the evening of May 3 and seemed to be near death. We didn't realize there was any problem up till then, but in hindsight there were some signs we didn't take notice of like excessive water drinking and high urine volume going on for perhaps 6 months.
It was touch and go for several days but she made it through and has been home now 4 days. We are trying to get insulin dosing figured out and she is no where near regulated as of yet, usually in the 550 or 600 range before insulin injection and getting down to about 350 at nadir for the first curve I did on day 2. We started at 1 unit of glargine twice a day but after 2 days of mediocre results we bumped that to 2 units twice a day.
Still we wind up back at 550 before the next shot so today I tried a 1 unit booster (still Glargine) at the 6 hour mark. For the regular shot tonight at 8:30 PM we were at 460, which is better than 550 or 600 in my mind. We will see how the nadir tonight looks and what we wind up at tomorrow morning.
We need to get food figured out. She had been on dry her whole life. She came out of the ER DKA trauma skin and bones so we have been giving her Nutro wet food and she has been eating it well. We ordered a dry food called "Young Again" which hasn't arrived yet which claims to be a good diabetes dry food and claims to get a good number of cats into remission.
We are also giving her 1 ml Pet-tinic and 2.5 ml VetOne RenaPlus Potassium Gluconate twice a day per the ER vets instructions. I'm poking her ears frequently for blood samples. She tolerated it better than I would have expected to start but is getting angry with me now -- but we need data so that is that.
.....
Yes, I gave a second shot 6 hours after the first. I was aware that it would give me a 2nd nadir and (I thought) I wanted that. I was (I thought) no where near being too low and felt like I wanted to get her baseline BG to drop a bit in advance of the evening shot...just felt like I was stuck up in the mid-500's and 600's and needed something to change.
From the first several readings after that experiment I felt like it did what I wanted. Two hours later it had dropped slightly from the AM+6 reading and at the PMPS reading it was about 100 points lower than all the previous pre-shot readings (464 instead of 550's or higher). I read about the Simogyi effect and was pretty sure that wasn't in play. However, the 3 readings since the evening shot have gone poorly and entirely in the wrong direction. I can't decide if the evening shot was poorly executed (she moved on me a bit) and delivered nothing or if there is in fact something else going on. We went from 464 PMPS to 513-513-646 at 2 hour increments. I'm dreading what I'm going to find at the morning reading and if I'm going to have to haul her into another ER for IV insulin to try to get her down into an acceptable range.
I haven't tested for ketones yet but have been intending to. With these BG levels I have to believe they are probably present. I'll post this in that other forum as well.
It was touch and go for several days but she made it through and has been home now 4 days. We are trying to get insulin dosing figured out and she is no where near regulated as of yet, usually in the 550 or 600 range before insulin injection and getting down to about 350 at nadir for the first curve I did on day 2. We started at 1 unit of glargine twice a day but after 2 days of mediocre results we bumped that to 2 units twice a day.
Still we wind up back at 550 before the next shot so today I tried a 1 unit booster (still Glargine) at the 6 hour mark. For the regular shot tonight at 8:30 PM we were at 460, which is better than 550 or 600 in my mind. We will see how the nadir tonight looks and what we wind up at tomorrow morning.
We need to get food figured out. She had been on dry her whole life. She came out of the ER DKA trauma skin and bones so we have been giving her Nutro wet food and she has been eating it well. We ordered a dry food called "Young Again" which hasn't arrived yet which claims to be a good diabetes dry food and claims to get a good number of cats into remission.
We are also giving her 1 ml Pet-tinic and 2.5 ml VetOne RenaPlus Potassium Gluconate twice a day per the ER vets instructions. I'm poking her ears frequently for blood samples. She tolerated it better than I would have expected to start but is getting angry with me now -- but we need data so that is that.
.....
Yes, I gave a second shot 6 hours after the first. I was aware that it would give me a 2nd nadir and (I thought) I wanted that. I was (I thought) no where near being too low and felt like I wanted to get her baseline BG to drop a bit in advance of the evening shot...just felt like I was stuck up in the mid-500's and 600's and needed something to change.
From the first several readings after that experiment I felt like it did what I wanted. Two hours later it had dropped slightly from the AM+6 reading and at the PMPS reading it was about 100 points lower than all the previous pre-shot readings (464 instead of 550's or higher). I read about the Simogyi effect and was pretty sure that wasn't in play. However, the 3 readings since the evening shot have gone poorly and entirely in the wrong direction. I can't decide if the evening shot was poorly executed (she moved on me a bit) and delivered nothing or if there is in fact something else going on. We went from 464 PMPS to 513-513-646 at 2 hour increments. I'm dreading what I'm going to find at the morning reading and if I'm going to have to haul her into another ER for IV insulin to try to get her down into an acceptable range.
I haven't tested for ketones yet but have been intending to. With these BG levels I have to believe they are probably present. I'll post this in that other forum as well.
. Last thing: you'll want to get a spreadsheet set up for recording your BG data-- it's a fantastic tool not only for you, but for the people helping you, to be able to see the patterns as they emerge. Instructions are