? Snickers BG 60s- 80s: Is it Time for an OTJ trial?

Snickers and Chrissy

Member Since 2019
Hi,

Snickers numbers have been holding steady in the 60s-80s range for about 2 weeks now. Her highest numbers are her AMPS, usually around 84-86. Otherwise we're in the 60s and 70s. She's at a .1 dose.

I counted the drops in the dose she's getting, and it seems to be about 2 drops, maybe 3/2.5 if we pull a bit more, but otherwise about 2. I can't seem to pull just 1 drop with these syringes we're using.

Is it time to do an OTJ trial, or should I see if her numbers drop lower, like to the 50s-70s first? Thanks for any input. :)
 
Hi Chrissy,
Beautiful numbers Snickers! You could have gone down to a drop after one week of green numbers at the .1 dose (which I measured as two drops).
That would be the next dose!

I played around by putting drops on the glass stovetop until I felt good about drawing up a drop.
What I did was draw a bit of insulin into the syringe then shoot back out, to have the syringe or needle primed. (If you don't take that step, the next step might not yield any insulin at all - I tested and am glad I did.)
Push the plunger in hard and then release your hold and take the syringe out. That should give you a drop! Test a few times and see if it works . . .

Then definitely OTJ Trial time after a week staying green on a drop.
 
Last edited:
Hi Chrissy,
Beautiful numbers Snickers! You could have gone down to a drop after one week of green numbers at the .1 dose (which I measured as two drops).
That would be the next dose!

I played around by putting drops on the glass stovetop until I felt good about drawing up a drop.
What I did was draw a bit of insulin into the syringe then shoot back out, to have the syringe or needle primed. (If you don't take that step, the next step might not yield any insulin at all - I tested and am glad I did.)
Push the plunger in hard and then release your hold and take the syringe out. That should give you a drop! Test a few times and see if it works . . .

Then definitely OTJ Trial time after a week staying green on a drop.
Thanks! I guess I waited a bit in lowering the dose because 2 weeks ago some of her numbers were right on the border, like 99, 96, etc so I waited till they came down more.

I tried that thing with pushing the plunger in hard, inserting, then letting off the pressure. It didn't work for me. The funny thing is I tried it with our old syringes (just to see) and it worked fine. We ran out of those syringes and the store was out of that brand, so I got these ones we have now, and they won't pull the drop. It's weird.

That being said, I just tried pulling a single drop again using the 0 line as reference. I did it 4 times in a row, so I guess tomorrow we'll start on 1 drop and see how it goes. Thanks again!
 
Back
Top