? Snickers 4-18-20 amps=162 - too low to shoot?

SingsToCats

Member Since 2020
Snickers dropped to 65 on 4-16, and he's had a hard time since then. I lowered his dose to 4 but I think it's still too high.

I think if I shoot 4 now it will be too much. But yesterday I only gave him 3 when he was at 321, and it wasn't enough. So I don't know what to do.
 
Sorry no one got back to you in time. I was reading in your previous post (linked below for easy viewing) that you are switching from dry to wet food. That can make quite a difference in insulin needs. It's help us help you if you put comments in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, to show when food transition started or if you have to start or stop any meds.

Since you are having to skip (though not really have to), why don't you go down to 3.5 units and see how that goes. Explaining my comment in brackets, eventually you will learn to shoot lower numbers. You did once shoot 4.5 units at a prehot of 180. That's not much higher than 162. Once you can monitor, and have the data to do so, you can start shooting lower numbers. Though no lower than 90 if following SLGS for dosing. But for now with the food transition, go down in dose. You can always go back up if it was too large a reduction.

Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-dropped-to-65-yesterday-need-advice.228427/
 
Thanks, I just now saw your reply. I'm posting another thread, I have lowered his dose but I don't think I'm making the right choices.
 
Back
Top