Sneakers 6-26

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Hello all!

Sneakers is doing well on 8u (I got some blues!) and now that I am home and back on schedule I will be moving her dose up to 9u tonight. I don't think i need to bother with the .5u increases right now with her acro dx until she shows signs of consistent low numbers.

One strange thing- when I got home last night it smelled like a male cat had gotten in and sprayed the back hall- really strong. Is there anything from the acro that might cause Sneakers to do that? I only have one cat, female, and there was no sign of entry in the cat door and no other sign of another cat all night long.
 
Female cats will sometimes "spray" on a vertical surface. My female cat, Charlotte, peed straight backwards (starting from the squat and then standing up. Towards the end she was peeing outside the box all the time and sometimes that meant on the front door. I had a problem with Jeddie doing that and the smell is possibly still there for a cat to pick up on even with all the cleaning I have done.

Anyway, she might have done that if she was mad about being left alone. But are you sure that no male cat go inside while you were gone? If you have a cat door, they will do that sometimes. We had a cat door when I growing up and we had occasional strange male cats come into the house (and one we kept finding asleep on out beds, lol. I am sure he was the father of one or too litters of kittens) and also racoons, who came in, opened the cabinets where the dry cat food bad was stored and helped themselves!
 
I have a cat door but it is currently blocked by a board and then her litter box is resting up against it so she can't pull it out and go out for some KCC. It was still in the same position and not pushed out in any way.

I was more wondering about a cat outside at the back door and Sneakers spraying inside as a reaction. I'll look at the door closer. My light has gone out in the hallway and I can't get a good grip on the dome to turn it to change it out.

Yes, I have been woken up with a cat fight underneath my bed at 2am with Sneakers and Mooch (a stray I was feeding).
 
Just stopping in to say, "HEY!" I have no idea about the spraying, but will be interested to hear what you learn...

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Hi Heather -

Several of my cats were feral before they came onto "my payroll", and thus were accustomed to peeing on trees and marking as you describe. After enough scrubbing of walls, I got smart and bought some Rubbermaid tubs, which serve as the litter boxes. Not pretty, but very effective. Of course you still have to scrub out the tubs, but it's much easier than the hands/knees of the wall, floor, under the box, etc. I don't know that I've ever seen one of my females do it, so maybe you brought something in (like a flower pot?) or something that may have been marked on outside. Or maybe it's coming in through the door. When I've had an un-neutered female in the house, other ferals would spray on my windows... ugh! Once they were spayed, hasn't happened since.

Looks like our kids are running parallel w/ their insulin. I upped today as well. I was told that w/ the Acro numbers, you can do increases every 7th cycle (hold the dose 3 days). As the numbers get higher, I've typically stayed w/ a 20-25% increase... the .5s are barely a blip on their radar!

Hoping she continues to give you some nice numbers. I was doing the happy dance when I saw blue - twice!!! And a string of yellows sure is pretty!!! Now, if I could only get rid of the red preshots (the black preshots usually are associated with Grayson getting into contraband). He's SOOOOO sneaky!!!
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Hi Heather -

Several of my cats were feral before they came onto "my payroll", and thus were accustomed to peeing on trees and marking as you describe.

I've looked all over the back hall and there is no spray marks on the walls, doors, or floors at all - weird. And I don't think she has ever been feral, even as a kitten. Just ornery :lol:

Looks like our kids are running parallel w/ their insulin. I upped today as well. I was told that w/ the Acro numbers, you can do increases every 7th cycle (hold the dose 3 days). As the numbers get higher, I've typically stayed w/ a 20-25% increase... the .5s are barely a blip on their radar!
I saw that- and I upped a full unit rather than a half one. Might as well go for the one-two punch! Thanks for the suggestion as I would still be inching up the ladder like a timid mouse- with acro I don't think timidity will be cutting it much :? .

Hoping she continues to give you some nice numbers. I was doing the happy dance when I saw blue - twice!!! And a string of yellows sure is pretty!!! Now, if I could only get rid of the red preshots (the black preshots usually are associated with Grayson getting into contraband). He's SOOOOO sneaky!!!

Yes, I'm happy when I get a blue. And the more yellows the better. Her preshots are strange, one will be pink, the other a yellow, 60 points difference and I have no idea why. She's the kind that ignores the food bowl until you go over and show her that there is actually food in the bowl and 3am is her favorite time for that :lol: . But she doesn't eat all that's there so I am wondering if she goes and nibbles when she can't wake me up.
 
This morning her AMPS was 198- nicest morning ps in a while. Usually pink.

9 units for 2 cycles.

And she played a little with her purple mousie- HIGHLY unusual for her eat, sleep, squeak (she doesn't have a meow anymore) routine. Her biggest thrill is going out on the porch in the coolest part of the day :lol: .
 
WOW! I can't even imagine a 198 preshot!!!

Great that she seems to be finding her "groove" w/ this dose. If I can only keep Grayson out of trouble, I think we'd see some more pretty numbers. I was so hopeful yesterday. AMPS 365 (that's good for him). But he's back to that "ravenous" state... and will eat the table legs if he's locked out and away from anything yummy! I can only picture him laying on top of the cans & jars in the base lazy Susan, munching on egg noodles! :shock: And yesterday, he was sitting in front of the cannister on the hall table w/ the lid off and his face inside. Based on the numbers, I'll bet he had one heckuva tummy ache last night!!!

Hopefully Sneakers isn't reading about all Grayson's antics... don't want to teach the pretty girl bad habits! ;-)
 
Who doesn't LOVE a blue kitty....Go Sneakers Go!!!

Favim.com-21844.jpg
 
Grayson & Lu said:
WOW! I can't even imagine a 198 preshot!!!

Great that she seems to be finding her "groove" w/ this dose. If I can only keep Grayson out of trouble, I think we'd see some more pretty numbers. I was so hopeful yesterday. AMPS 365 (that's good for him). But he's back to that "ravenous" state... and will eat the table legs if he's locked out and away from anything yummy! I can only picture him laying on top of the cans & jars in the base lazy Susan, munching on egg noodles! :shock: And yesterday, he was sitting in front of the cannister on the hall table w/ the lid off and his face inside. Based on the numbers, I'll bet he had one heckuva tummy ache last night!!!

Hopefully Sneakers isn't reading about all Grayson's antics... don't want to teach the pretty girl bad habits! ;-)

She's done the noodles... well, spaghetti sticks, but still... hasn't for quite some time now. I've got to be careful with bread as she will bite it through the plastic and then take little tuffs out of it. She remembers when I had cream cheese on them (now THAT was a day of reds :o ) she was naughty all day that day.

I was looking at the SS and noted "first pen finished" they do go down fast when you've got the high doses going, don't they? I'm about ready to buy my 2nd set of 5 and look to do another set of 5 before the coupon for $25 off runs out in September- whether shes down to needing them or not as they store well in the fridge :lol: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top