Sneakers 5-8, going down please

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Well, Sneakers seems to like the 4u as she stays in the yellows or near yellows and throws me a few blues now and then- like this morning. This morning she was almost at a no-shot area, so I am thankful that next week I can start creeping back her shot time. If I can get it back to 5:30 that would be great. I get off work at 4:30, get 30 minutes walking at the free gym I have at work, and home to shoot by 5:30. And if she gets into a no-shoot # I would have 2 hours to play with before having to leave- and not mess up her evening schedule.

She definitely has a late nadir- had one on PZI, too.

Started a new job yesterday- when okay but as my Outlook was out I didn't get much done that day. I did, however, get to have a new badge made- which meant a new picture. Usually I am not too fond on pics but the one it was replacing was a bad one, so I didn't mind (And I'm 50lbs lighter, so that helped :lol: ).

Off to finish getting ready for work. I hope today is better than yesterday. Went from a 2yr old, 2gig RAM memory computer with 2 monitors to a 1gig, 4 or 5 year old with one dinky monitor. Sigh...
 
Levemir is known for its late nadirs, sometimes +12 for some cats. It's not a reason to skip a shot, especially for a cat like Sneakers. Shots should not be skipped, but you can give less insulin if the BG is way low, like below 100. Of course you need the data to back up that it's safe to do so if you've seen a rise in BGs within the first 2 hours. The first few times you get a preshot that you're uncomfortable shooting, test again in 30 minutes. If BG is rising it's safe to give a shot. Then when a preshot low happens again, give the shot on time and test to see what happens.

Of course, work and life get in the way of this plan. There is nothing wrong with playing it safe, but I hate to watch anyone lose all the progress their cat has made by skipping one shot.

Since she's getting some blues slow your increases down to .25U at a time. Good job though!! Getting 200s for preshots is great progress for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top