Sneakers 3-4, 3-6

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Sneakers finally cleared her bounce and has in the blues almost 24 hours. Bounce time was almost 48. I don't know what made it but it took such a time to clear.

Mom shoots tonight- mid-term week and first test tonight, second tomorrow night.
 
Re: Sneakers 3-4

I think it can take longer to clear a bounce when the dose is decreased in response to it. I usually hold the higher dose that I thought caused the bounce for the next shot (or two) and then decrease when the numbers start to come back down.

Now the thing to do is hold this dose and see if her numbers settle back down some more.

Good luck on your mid-terms!
 
Re: Sneakers 3-4

She's on her third cycle of 16u- yippee- I get an 'extra' 4u per shot for later- 4 cycles equals one old cycle of insulin :-D

I can see the point- she was only on 17u for 5 cycle when she started to swing and the 6th was a straight pink shot :roll: :lol: . I guess I dropped it b/c I didn't want her swinging high to low and back again.

But I am LOVING the BLUES! :razz: :razz: :razz:
 
Re: Sneakers 3-4

Back to bounce :roll:

Mom says the shot was good so we are left with tumor ramping up and needing more insulin or gearing down and needing less insulin.

As always, wishing she came with a manual :lol:
 
Re: Sneakers 3-4

Actually, I always wish there was an automatic hourly BG recorder on them.

Yeah, it's tough when you don't know if the spikes are from too much or too little insulin. It's a bit of a guessing game.
 
Re: Sneakers 3-4

Apparently it was a bounce and not tumor output as her PMPS was 186 and +2 was 185 when I got home.

Yeck- her poor body must be going haywire and feeling poorly :sad:

But glad she came down to blues again. She must be hitting greens on her lows to cause it to go up. Will drop to 15u tomorrow AMPS in order to counter the next bounce.

Maybe she will go green tonight and I can catch it.

I've heard of a watch that can record BG levels and it beeps to let diabetics know when it is low/high. It has constant contact with the skin and gets it's reading from sweat. I'm wondering if we could figure out a way to turn it into a collar and having a shaved neck on the cat....

Currently she is grooming and on the sofa next to me :-D :mrgreen:
 
Swinging to the yellows! Did good over night but here come the waves!

Dropped her to 15u this morning so hopefully we shall ride it out with lower numbers.
 
Looks like you have been holding doses for 3-4 days. Do you think that is enough?

All I can think of is that putting a collar over shaved skin would be really irritating! What might work is if they can make the sensor in a sticky patch that would go on a shaved area. Something that wouldn't rub around, but would stay in one spot. As easy as it is to test, it would be some much nicer if you could catch the entire cycle and know for sure if there was a low (or high) not seen at PS or nadir time.

Does she get on the sofa by herself? Or do you have stairs for her? It so nice when they make themselves at home. I didn't really think about it until Cami, who took so long to feel enough at home to get on the sofa and just hang out.
 
With Acro cats we can dose in a shorter time span but I do like to hold it for 5 days total as she can take a while to settle.

I've only done the last round in 3 and 4 cycles mainly because she was starting to swing indicating she was getting too much insulin and bouncing from it. This dose she will be on for a bit as she still hasn't come out of the swing yet. All yellows yesterday and this morning. I figure she will clear tonight or tomorrow morning.

And a sticky patch like a band-aid or the kind used in the nicotine patches? I'm thinking collar b/c there will be some mechanical piece in the watch that might not transition over to the patch very well. Maybe a tummy band? Something to wear on a curve day? :lol:

And I have a box that she uses as a step to get onto the couch for comfies and cuddles. She doesn't have a spring in her back feet anymore and even uses a step stool to get onto my lowered bed.
 
I understand about losing their "spring" in their back legs. I had a very old cat with arthritis and she got on the sofa via a series of lower pieces of furniture. And my ex-h final built her a set of stairs for the bed, but at night she always came around to my side of the bed and I reached down, put my arm around her middle and hoisted her up. And when I first got Cami she seemed to be unsure about jumping on the bed or sofa like it was too high, but if I put a food dish up high for the other cats, she always found a route up to it!

Sorry it took so long to reply back - its been a crazy week here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top