Sneakers 2-27

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
As I type Sneakers is sitting beside me on the couch after eating her 2 oz supper (over 2 hours- oh the things you can do with an only cat :lol: ).

I've been doing an experiment on her, meany me ;-) , but I think it is working. I've always wondered if her dose was too high for a while now, especially with her eating better food. I dropped it to 18.5u and she surfed the blues :-D :-D . Then she started to go up three out of 4 tests after two days. I would have raised it back but she was ALWAYS blue for the PMPS. So I have dropped her to 17u and will hold that for a few more days as well. Today's PMPS, while yellow, was an hour late and she still had food on her plate so I think she'd been nibbling some since I was an hour late b/c of a school meeting. I did give her some pepcid as she would eat a little, then turn away, eat a little, then turn away. I think she has sporadic nausea- either that or she's learned I'll give her laughing cow cheese (1% c) wrapped around a pill if she shows reluctance to eat :lol: :roll: .

Earlier today my sister called to ask about the dog crate she let me borrow- their cat apparently got run over and has a broken pelvis and needs to be crated to heal. The cat is less than a year old and is highly ACTIVE!!!! and will not enjoy being confined. I sent hers back months ago b/c they needed it to transport the puppy but I offered her the crate I have available that I got in case I had to emergency foster one back at Thanksgiving.
 
What's it like to have only ONE cat? I don't think I can even remember when there was only one cat in my house, been a few times that I have only had 2 (briefly before they figured out how to turn on the invisible sign). :-D

I did have a cat back when my kids were little that got run over and broke his pelvis, it is amazing how fast those guys can heal. The worst part of him getting hit was I was the one that ran him over and felt so guilty about it. I didn't know back then that white cats with blue eyes were deaf. Snowy followed me home one day when I was taking one of my other cats for a walk on a leash. Back then all of mine were inside outside kids, and went somewhere saw the other cats run when I started the car and didn't realize that Snowy couldn't hear the car start, and I backed over him. :cry:

But within just a few weeks he was getting around fine, within a few months he was running, jumping and climbing again, but that was also the last time any of mine were ever allowed outside again without a harness and leash on.

Sneakers is a smart girl...that Laughing Cow cheese is yummy. I would pretend not to feel well to get more of it too..of course I believe everything is better with cheese added, must be the French heritage...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Everything IS better with cheese added, Mel....

It will be interesting to see how low you can take Sneakers. Your thinking is exactly what I did with Beau to lead him OTJ. I realize that won't happen with an Acro, but maybe you can find a lower dose that keeps her in good/more even numbers. That would be great.
 
Tui says she thinks George got bumped by the tire or something- he loves to get in the vehicle and then jump out again so who knows. He's yowling to get outside of the cage so they let him out this morning for a little while around the house.

Rambunctious little guy- and orngie and white fellow and we know how those orinch guys are :-D :lol:

And Tui ran over their last cat- Sneakers litter sister. Tui thought with the dx of FD Sneakers would be gone within MONTHS and Olive would live longer- that didn't quite happen that way. Tui was devastated and so was Eli- who was also in the car at the time :cry: . But Eli wanted a cat for her birthday and that is what she got.
 
Cats are just amazing at how well and how quickly they will heal from things that would keep us in bed for days. But after Snowy I just could never let any of mine outside again. Well there was Magick but she let herself out, she had just had kittens and literally went through a screen door to get out, jumped off a balcony and got hit and killed by a car. I ended up bottle feeding her two kittens who we named Liberty and Freedom as they were born on 9/11. Magick had been a pregnant feral when we brought her inside to have her kittens, so her desire to escape was understandable but still heartbreaking.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Over night:
172 PMPS
207 +4
163 +7
Nadir is usually +8 or +9 so I didn't get that
160 AMPS

My baby is surfin' the blues. Who cares if she's at IHOP and not moving much- she's surfin' the BLUES!!!! :mrgreen: :lol:
 
Go, Sneakers! Lovely numbers for an old acrocat.

It breaks my hear to hear about cats getting hit by cars. They shouldn't be outside, d*mn it! But, Mel, I love the names you gave those two kittens. Not only so patriotic, but so apropos of their mother wanting her liberty and freedom so much.
 
Re: Sneakers 2-27- BOUNCE! Ouch!

I don't know how low she got yesterday but PMPS was 235,
+4 was 346 (first test was 365 :shock: ),
+10 was 274 (coming down :smile: but didn't eat her +9 food :? )
and AMPS this morning was 226.

Going on that somehow 17u was too much I dropped to 16u this morning and I will be home soon after +9 to check on her again today.

I might have to drop her the same way I raised her- every three days rather than waiting for 4 or 5. She is an Acro cat most definitely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top