Sneakers 10-15

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
She's doing well- getting a little active now- could be meds, could be the 15 degrees cooler weather we are having around here :-D as she is hanging around outside as much as I let her feeling the breeze on her face.

Dropped dose to 30u as she seems to go low ( :mrgreen: GREENS :mrgreen: ) but then is high 200's the next PS. While you aren't supposed to have a shooting schedule with Lev, until I find her dose it will be: over 140 30u, between 100 to 140- 25u, under 100- 20u. REALLY low (like her 69 :o ) she got 10u. If she keeps having swings i'll go lower to 27u and then drop again until I get consistent PS #'s that I can shoot the same dose into.

Food intake is around 8-10 oz/day now- so her regulation is good, the swings aren't effecting her that badly, no ketones present... Peeing, preening normal, pooping- mirilax helps with that and I forget to tell mom to give her some so a little rocky, purring- some times. Playing... going outside is the most activity she does, so I guess that is a good one so far. I hope she starts being more active.

Meds- on Gaba right now- I do have Bube in the fridge but haven't quite figured out how to give it to her. They both got here the same day. Gaba gets mixed in her tuna juice and flakes as she refuses the butter ball :lol: . Her eyes are different- tracking my fingers when I pet her rather than her half glazed "Yes, I know you are there" expression. And her pupils are not so round anymore.

Oh, well, time for homework!
 
She sounds like she is doing pretty good.

I think the dosing plan is good until, as you say, you find the dose that evens things out. Just remember that each time you change it it has a forward ripple effect on the numbers.

I'm just wondering, now that I am thinking about it, if reducing and holding the reduction might work better? Say she is 130 and you shoot 25u, then the next PS she is 150 and you go back to 30u, you might start some swinging going on.

Just a thought that worked it's way to the surface - something to consider as you see what she does over the next few days.
 
Yes- a big problem with the dosing that I am realizing right now. I can gauge what to do but mom won't be able to.

I am finding 30u might be too high to do this at and have decided to actually go down to 25u- mainly because her PMPS for last night was 101 and her AMPS this morning was 95 (SS up to date, minus my out the door test in 10 minutes). I shot 25u both times. I think I might have to go low enough for 3-4 days and start her back up from there. It is a 25% reduction if I am doing my math right, but at least it will allow her to stabilize better and faster without the swings. She hasn't shown ketones in months, but I will start testing every day rather than every third day until then.

I am wondering, since she hasn't done anything but the big belly growth-wise, if her tumor is just resting right now and not growing. That would account for eating less and needing less insulin and the better numbers (when they aren't acting like a roller-coaster because she is getting too much and then not enough :lol: )

Well, time to get ready for the day.
 
I don't know about the progression, or even the expected trends, of a pituitary tumor, but it must act in some similar ways to normal hormone cycles - meaning it responds to feedback and levels of other hormones - to some degree. That's a guess. The pituitary is a very complicated gland that governs the entire being. So a tumor that is the unchecked growth of those cells.... could do just about anything. It probably has reached a stasis of some sort, but I would expect that to unbalance itself at some point.

Good plan to let her settle and then slowly come back up if needed. I think that will work better that the original plan, which probably would have driven you crazy trying to figure out what dose she was responding to at any given change in PS numbers.

For now you are probably near an optimal dose, for however long the tumor "rest" here, so maybe increases can be in the 1-2u range for fine tuning?
 
That is a good idea Sheila.

She is responding to the 25u- I've been consistent at shooting that the last few cycles. nothing in the 200's, all PS have been just under. No greens at night but at least her PS have been consistently close :lol:
 
I agree with Sheila. I didn't used to think that 1-2 unit variance at our doses would do squat. But when it's that little bit that makes the difference between, say a green and a blue, it might be just the trick.

I'm trying to make my adjustments w/ the R, but so far, only 3 doses, 2 of which did anything IMHO.

My understanding of the tumor is that it likes to sputter. You may go through cycles where she eats like a horse, or does/doesn't do something normally, then does a complete 180.

SOOOOOOO glad to hear about the look in her eyes. I've seen that on Grayson too, and it was good for me to see. :shock: Such a VERY important change!

Perhaps as you've gotten to the higher doses, the insulin resistance is reaching a breakthroug?h... and the tumor is responding to that? Could be, at least. It will be interesting to see how she responds, but just like with Grayson, we'll take it!!! ;-)
 
Yes, looking over her chart I could see that, even though I did go longer at 30 and I did get a PS green but when the numbers started going up so did I and that is when the classic roller coaster set in. Now that I've seen it I will know what to look for if it happens again :roll:

She will get 27u tonight instead of 28u- no great leaps and bounds for a time :lol:

Oh, and, she is boycotting the raw chicken now :roll: full on for special kitty. And I was going to make a new batch tomorrow with the new tasin grinder I just got :razz: :?

I'll wait a few weeks and then reintroduce it. She's been on it for some months now so I know she will like it again later :mrgreen: .
 
She must know you just spent a bunch of money on the new grinder!

Cats are so funny that way. When I got (caught) Beau he wanted to live under my dining room table, sleeping on the hardwood floors in the draft from the leaky windows - during the winter. So I made him a high sided cat bed with berber fleece inside it. He refused to sleep in it. He just slept in front of it like it was in his way. That was 1999. When I moved here is 2003, he decided it would be ok to sleep in it and it has remained a favorite spot in the winters since then. Silly boy.

Hopefully, Sneakers will decide to like raw chicken much faster than that!
 
Went up to 26u for 3 cycles- started to see a rebound so reduced back to 25u :? :roll: .

Ahh, my dear girl, you are so finicky lately.

Yes, the grinder is out, ready to be washed before use :lol: .

Sneakers isn't using any beds at all- she much prefers the cold, hard floor. But, with the coolness of the last week or so she has been known to get on the bed in front of the window where the cool breeze is coming in and she can look out on the yard and watch the birdies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top