Lorna&Smokey
Member Since 2010
Hi All,
I need a new vet, near Kingsway & Boundary in Vancouver, who has experience with diabetic cats, and charges a reasonable fee. Can anyone make a recommendation? As well, I need to learn how to take Smokey's blood.
HISTORY: Smokey is around 10 years old; he has been with me since May, 2002. He was found on the streets of Vancouver, BC in a very emaciated state. Within a few months he became very sick and was treated for severe anemia and was later diagnosed with asthma. His health has been a rough road but he has such a strong will to live and is very patient when I try to help him. He regularly takes prednisilone (not prednisone) and terbutaline. On October 6, 2010 he was diagnosed with diabetes with a blood glucose of 20 mmol/L.
On October 6th his BG was 20. He was put on Caninsulin 2U x2/day.
On October 16th his BG was 12 so Caninsulin was increased to 3U x2/day.
On October 26th his BG was 1.9 so Caninsulin was decreased to 2U x2/day.
On October 30th his BG was 4.9 so Caninsulin was continued at 2U x2/day.
On November 6th, I came home to find him in a hypoglycemic state close to coma. It was so frightening! He was rigid but still conscious. I gave corn syrup and he came around within minutes.
So we started again...
On November 9th his BG was "Hi" so Caninsulin was started again at 2U x2/day.
On November 13th his BG was 20 so Caninsulin was increased to 3U x2/day.
On November 18th his BG was 2.8 so Caninsulin was decreased to 2U x2/day.
On November 29th he had another hypoglycemic incident while I was away and his catsitter was with him. She took him to the vet for IV glucose. He came home the next day with instructions to give him no insulin and bring him back in one week for a BG. I came home December 3rd and starting giving him Caninsulin 2U x2/day.
DOES ANYONE HAVE AN EXPLANATION??
I bought a Lifescan OneTouch Ultra glucometer with Delica lancets. The box says they are the thinnest lancet from OneTouch. A friend who previously had a diabetic cat and took blood came to teach me but we couldn't get any blood from his ear. What lancets should I buy and where can I get them?
Smokey and I would appreciate any help.
Cheers,
Lorna & Smokey
I need a new vet, near Kingsway & Boundary in Vancouver, who has experience with diabetic cats, and charges a reasonable fee. Can anyone make a recommendation? As well, I need to learn how to take Smokey's blood.
HISTORY: Smokey is around 10 years old; he has been with me since May, 2002. He was found on the streets of Vancouver, BC in a very emaciated state. Within a few months he became very sick and was treated for severe anemia and was later diagnosed with asthma. His health has been a rough road but he has such a strong will to live and is very patient when I try to help him. He regularly takes prednisilone (not prednisone) and terbutaline. On October 6, 2010 he was diagnosed with diabetes with a blood glucose of 20 mmol/L.
On October 6th his BG was 20. He was put on Caninsulin 2U x2/day.
On October 16th his BG was 12 so Caninsulin was increased to 3U x2/day.
On October 26th his BG was 1.9 so Caninsulin was decreased to 2U x2/day.
On October 30th his BG was 4.9 so Caninsulin was continued at 2U x2/day.
On November 6th, I came home to find him in a hypoglycemic state close to coma. It was so frightening! He was rigid but still conscious. I gave corn syrup and he came around within minutes.
So we started again...
On November 9th his BG was "Hi" so Caninsulin was started again at 2U x2/day.
On November 13th his BG was 20 so Caninsulin was increased to 3U x2/day.
On November 18th his BG was 2.8 so Caninsulin was decreased to 2U x2/day.
On November 29th he had another hypoglycemic incident while I was away and his catsitter was with him. She took him to the vet for IV glucose. He came home the next day with instructions to give him no insulin and bring him back in one week for a BG. I came home December 3rd and starting giving him Caninsulin 2U x2/day.
DOES ANYONE HAVE AN EXPLANATION??
I bought a Lifescan OneTouch Ultra glucometer with Delica lancets. The box says they are the thinnest lancet from OneTouch. A friend who previously had a diabetic cat and took blood came to teach me but we couldn't get any blood from his ear. What lancets should I buy and where can I get them?
Smokey and I would appreciate any help.
Cheers,
Lorna & Smokey