? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509, +4 442

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

I shoot at 6:00am and before I shoot tonight I was hoping for some direction. I apologize, I forgot to add yesterday's condo. Just added it.

Thanks again!
 
Re: Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

Hi Smokey,
So that others can see you need help, could you go up to your very post of today and Edit it and see where the Topic Icons are - click on the one for ? Question mark! That way the dose advisors can see you and help, okay! Thanks and this will bump you up!
 
Re: ? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

You'll need to get spot checks in order to make sure that Smokey doesn't hand you any surprises but if there's no big change, you can increase the dose to 2.0u. Please try to get at least spot check each cycle. A before bed test can be very important.
 
Re: ? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

Sorry Smokey's been on the high side :( I was so optimistic when those pre-shots started coming down for you last week. Good job on keeping tabs on things! Hopefully the increase (assuming you can get some checks) will do some good for him and help with the water consumption.
 
Re: ? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

I agree with Sienne, I would increase to 2 units BUT you really have to start getting at least a before bed test every night, and other spot checks when you can. You don't want to end up in the same situation you were in before.
 
Re: ? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

Okay! 2 units it is tonight.

Smokey peed in the house today which is the first in a long time. This makes me think he has a UTI. Can anyone tell me if I should expect an increase in BG when Smokey is on Clavamox (pills)?

Thanks again,
 
Re: ? Smokey Dose Question - AMPS 509

Smokey said:
Okay! 2 units it is tonight.

Smokey peed in the house today which is the first in a long time. This makes me think he has a UTI. Can anyone tell me if I should expect an increase in BG when Smokey is on Clavamox (pills)?

Thanks again,

Alex has sometimes gone up when he's on Clav but normally he doesn't. ECID. It wouldn't be unheard of.
 
If the vet prescribes a pill, it's unlikely that it will cause an increase in BG numbers. If you use a liquid form of Clavamox, be sure it doesn't contain any sugar (sucrose, dextrose, etc.). It's not the antibiotic that can cause an increase in BG. It's the infection. Once the AB kicks in, numbers usually drop.
 
I'm going to do my best to catch more urine in the morning and bring it in. Maybe with all of these 500's, he has developed an infection (usually happened in the past). Negative Ketones. Pills are extremely easy for Smokey so that is preferred.

Thanks again for the information!
 
Good luck with the dose increase tonight and with the urine culture tomorrow. I hope Smokey responds for you and he will get off those high floors and head back down!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top