?-Smokey 6/2 AMPS 295 (fur shot), PMPS 505 - Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
Hello All!

Gosh, I just don't understand! I have never given fur shots and I've been giving them lately! I totally watch the needle go right in, I feel it go in and when I take it out (just below the needle), I have all wet fur and high 500's throughout that day! It's almost like when I pull out the needle, it is coming back out! I know, I know this is stupid to say but it just amazes me, I've never dealt with this before!! :shock:

I'm at the end of my 6 cycles at 2 units so I'm not sure if I should be increasing to a FAT 2.0 for awhile (which should be a .25 increase as the plunger of his current dose is even at the top of the 2 marking). Any advice would be appreciated!



Link to last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44468
 
i don't know, but that's an interesting observation.

when i was looking at the lantus website on how to inject, i do recall that they said to leave the needle in for 10 seconds after you've shot. i wonder if it's related to that?
 
Hmmmm....could be! That is a good thought because I don't do that! I started tonight in-between the shoulder blades so I have a direct view (instead of on the side of the shoulder or middle of side belly). We will see!!!
 
Hi guys, I'm replying in my role as fur-shot expert!! Yes, it really helps to keep the needle in, still putting pressure on the plunger, while you count to 10. Keep your finger on the plunger until after you pull the syringe out.

Good luck, and please don't give any more fur shots: my title would be in jeopardy!

In looking at Smokey's SS, in my opinion you have room to go up to a fat 2, or maybe even 2.25. But please wait for advice from one of our experts.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
I wouldn't increase Smokey's dose until you can get some more spot checks on this dose. You don't know how low he might be going off of the 200s during the day. Will you be able to get daytime tests this weekend?

For what it's worth, I was taught that when there is a furshot or a skipped shot, you kind of need to start your cycle count over again. Now you need to wait for the shed to refill again before changing the dose. Unfortunately I have a lot of experience with forgetting to shoot, and I usually mentally start over again with my counting. That would make tonight just cycle 3. It's not always necessary to wait 6 whole cycles, but it is a good general concept to keep in mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top